Donovan was right and I was wrong

By Maelora, in General Discussion

When I joined here, Donovan told me how to 'ignore' ErikB. I thought that was a bit harsh, because I only block people who are personally rude to me, not those whose views differ from mine. I'm a negotiator by profession, and being exposed to different views doesn't bother me.

Well, I'm here to say Donovan was right and I was wrong.

ErikB isn't rude, but his one-eyed Rebel propaganda, bizarre non-sequiturs and general trolling has destroyed my tolerance. I'm Alliance to the core, so congrats, Erik - you've actually made me like the Rebels less.

What settled it for me is his ludicrous fanboyism and refusal to engage about the game. There are plenty of SW boards around, but this one should be here for FFG's fantastic role-playing games. Not to argue about Disney, 'canon' or angels dancing on the head of a pin. (Why does it matter what Disney thinks? Put Imperial Army in your game, or not, as you see fit!)

Erik has refused to discuss the game . I even offered to send him a spare Beta book (he lives in my country, alas) but of course he's not interested in playing 'Age of Rebellion'. He has continually refused to talk about the RPG, only his boss-eyed vision of what he thinks SW is and bizarre Disney fetishism.

Long story short - if anyone out there is thinking of giving him a chance, take it from me, he won't oblige you. Your messageboard experience will be sweeter for adding him to your 'ignore' list.

Thanks Donovan - next time you suggest something, I shall listen.

Marcy

xxx

I am sorry he burnt you to the point where you had to post this.

I have him ignored as well, but I can still read his posts when he makes an interesting point. His negativity does truly grate on the nerves at time, along with the threads he is in being closed, and I can understand your frustration.

You often make interesting points, and I for one hope you stick around on the forum. Eric ignored or not.