Trying to decide which software to use to run an online game. Opinions needed!

By GoblynKing, in WFRP Gamemasters

Hey all,

I've been running a continuous WFRP 3rd Ed campaign for the past 2+ years with a rotating group of about seven players, though most sessions only include 2-4 PCs at a time since they're not all located in the same area of the campaign world.

Recently, some of my core players schedules have changed, making it difficult for us to all be in the same room for 4-5 hours straight. This has forced me to turn to running our sessions online. I've run a couple of games using roll20, as it was easy to pick up, and several of my players were already familiar with it. However Roll20 has proven to be a headache when it comes to running WFRP 3rd edition as not all of my players have access to their character's components (cards, tokens, etc), and simply typing everything up in an email for them doesn't quite work the same way that having a card in front of you with recharge tokens on it does.

I find that as a GM, being able to look around the table and almost instantly be able to see how weary and busted up a PC is by the kind of cards/tokens they have in front of them has been a godsend! It keeps play running smoothly and doesn't take us out of the game-world having to ask "how many hit points do you have left?", or "how soon until you can cast that spell again?", etc.

Anywho, I've been eyeing Fantasy Grounds II, with the Warhammer Fantasy RP 3rd edition expansion, but wanted to hear from GMs that have actually used it to run several games. I'd be purchasing the Ultimate License so that my players don't have to download or pay for anything.

There's also MapTools, which I just started looking at last night. I was surprised to see modules for a dice pool roller and tokens/location cards on Gitzman's site, but still don't see a way to integrate Action/Talent cards, Party Sheets, etc.