Question about Dodge

By Fixxxer, in Deathwatch Rules Questions

I'm very new to the system and our group has just had its second fight. After rolling an insanely good attack (seriously, like a 1 when I needed less than 104), an ork was able to dodge the bullet and take 0 damage. Seems like Dodge (and probably parry) are all or nothing. So is there a way (traits, etc) to make it more difficult for someone to dodge/parry your attack?

I'm very new to the system and our group has just had its second fight. After rolling an insanely good attack (seriously, like a 1 when I needed less than 104), an ork was able to dodge the bullet and take 0 damage. Seems like Dodge (and probably parry) are all or nothing. So is there a way (traits, etc) to make it more difficult for someone to dodge/parry your attack?

Feint maneuver

Killing Strike talent

Furious Assault talent (depending on the interpretation of this talent works)

Two-Weapon Wielder talent

Swift Attack/Lightning Attack talent

Multiple Arms trait

None of these function for ranged attacks. BUT...

Overwatch. At least in Only War this attack cannot be Dodged; I'm not sure if this is the case in DW.

Also, semi and full auto fire are inherently harder to dodge.

Overwatch. At least in Only War this attack cannot be Dodged; I'm not sure if this is the case in DW.

Overwatch is undodgeable in all systems AFAIK, because Dodge is a reaction, and as such you can only dodge when it's not your turn. same thing applies for other Reaction attacks, like Mehcandendrites.

Hit somebody on their turn and they can't do much about it.

How would you ever hit somebody on their turn? To hit someone wouldn't it, by definition HAVE to be the person's turn who is doing the hitting?

How would you ever hit somebody on their turn? To hit someone wouldn't it, by definition HAVE to be the person's turn who is doing the hitting?

Wiell with Overwatch. :) EDIT: and with lots of Squad Mode abilities.