Board size and table space

By Ralzar, in General Discussion

I am hoping to play this game with a very casual group of 3-4 people, where the game is just something to amuse ourselves with for a couple of hours after dinner. I have had some frustrating experiences with some other FFG games because they take up too much table space (there needs to be room for the dessert and after dinner drinks :) ) and they take too long. For example; Chaos in the Old World and Mansions of Madness.

The sweet spot seems to be the size and gameplay time of "Pandemic". We can some times get in two rounds of Pandemic in an evening and it does not take up every square inch of the table.

So, for those who have seen the game and/or played it; how long does it take to play and how much table space does it take up?

Edited by Ralzar

Eldritch Horror is a great game, but it's not really the sort of game that I would expect to get great value from played "casually" in the way that you suggest. It's really a more immersive game than I suspect fits the situation you're intending to use it in. As to your direct question: it's a 6-fold FFG board and there's a number of decks of cards and Investigator sheets, which would lead me to think that you'd regard it as a large game. I don't have the measurements to hand and I haven't played either of your comparison games, but to give you an idea, it fits on my 60" x 30" table, but there's not a huge amount of room for desert and drinks. As to play time, the time on the box is about right: 2-3 hours for 4 players depending on experience of the players and their style of play.