Wounds: How I did it by Victor "Madpoet" Frankenstein

By madpoet, in WFRP House Rules

Since I started playing WFRP3 I thought it was a beautiful and innovative system but with some serious faults.

After a couple of months I began to wonder how to fix the things I didn t like and I after 3 years I still create new house rules or I modify existing ones.

But let's stick to the topic.

I think healing is too easy and quick for a "grim and gritty" campaign.

So I decided to modify the RAW in the following way:

1/Every night a character heal 1 normal wound + the the result (hammers only) of a Resiliency roll. Resting for a full day add 1 to the healed wounds.

2/After healing all normal wound tha character can start healing critical ones. The amount of hammers is the critical rating that can be healed.

Severe wounds can be healed after standard criticals.

3/difficulty for both rolls is as per RAW (1 purple die or 2 for critical wounded character)

4/Medicine skill add 1 yellow die per training level of the "doctor" which doesn t need to roll at all but he can cure/assist only 1 patients per Int points per hour.

5/going in a Shallyan hospice reduce the difficulty healing (1 less purple die) but the character must stay at least one full day.

6/every single healing spells can be tried only once a day for each character.

7/First Aid skill doesn't heal normal wounds anymore it works for critical.

At the end of a combat the skill can be used to treat just one single critical wound suffered by each character. The amount of hammers is the severity rating of the critical that can be turned into normal wound.

8/For the previously mentioned rolls eagles can results in special bonuses and skulls add fatigue for the following day.

9/Poor hygienic conditions can results in black dice added to the every related roll.