Advanced Deployment (Aircraft): Issues / fixes?

By phocion, in Dust Tactics Rules Discussion

Hi All

I'm relatively new to Dust, but DT has rapidly become on of my favorite games. I don't really have a problem with 99% of the DT rules and I accept that they are streamlined and abstracted for a reason. But I recently played a few games where one rule in particular has made me think that no one thought it through particularly well before release. That rule is the Advanced Deployment rule for Aircraft in the Zverograd expansion (p10).

The issue in a nutshell is that an SSU player who activates last (either through initiative or having more units than you) can out manoeuver you with Advanced Deployment of his helicopters after all your units have activated, putting his helicopters right into your face (when you cant stop him) and that even if you win the initiative next turn, you are probably not going to be able to stop a chopper (unless you happen to be playing Axis: see below) with one activation, from destroying a significant part of your army as he will activate a chopper each activation in future and sustained fire all his single use weapons off, guaranteeing (in my experience), 3 units or vehicles killed or combat ineffective. Reactive fire probably wont help much here either. Most AAA units have not got the chops to take down a helicopter in a single sustained fire action, though the Axis probably have the lions share of those units that could (Lara & Heavy Recon or Fleigerfausts, Sturmkonig). Bar the Grim Reapers, Allies dont have a single unit that can put up enough dice to realistically scrub a chopper from the board in one go (we will see what the new heavy AAA walker does). Even if you do play Axis, unless you have a lot of the above units spread across the board you are still vulnerable to this tactic.