Heroes sharing spaces

By guest482943, in Dust Tactics Rules Discussion

I'm pretty new to the game so and I noticed in the rules heroes can share the space with any other unit. And that when a hero is attached to a squad they get attacked as one unit.

But what happens when the hero isn't part of the squad? Or if he shares a space with a vehicle? Do they get attacked sepearately? Does the hero gain cover when with a vehicle? Or does the vehicle block him completely?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

If a hero shares a space with another unit which he's not attached to, the attacker must chose which weapons are attacking which units. A hero never gains cover nor is he blocked when sharing a space with another unit. The attacker can chose to ignore the vehicle and attack just the hero, or vice-versa, or use some weapons on the vehicle and some on the hero.

Great, thanks a lot!

What about heroes sharing spaces with heroes? Is this okay? If this is the case, is there any limit to the number of heroes in the same square? It sound in the rule like you could technically have a vehicle and 5 heroes all sharing the same space. Not necessarily the best way to play, of course, but it appears to me that this would be legal. Am i correct?

I can't see why that would be illegal. You could have a full squad and a truckload of heroes sharing the same square, if you want to. Though for the life of me I can't see what advantage one could get from such a silly strategy.

I can see why you would want to loophole when there are some missions where you have to hold an objective by the 8th turn. I would put as many heroes as I can so the person shooting can only shoot at one unit or the other.

Humm.. yeah, that could work. But I wouldn't see that as much of an exploit of the rules. Paying for all those heroes and not using them to add longevity to your squads seems a fair price to pay for such a strategy.

From Revised Core Rules
Page 6