Have I made an expensive mistake?

By Rekkless88, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Hi there.

So long story short. Like many of you I felt nostalgic for Heroquest. Not particularly wanting to pay $250 - $350+ for a heavily used version of Heroquest I looked elsewhere.

Descent is what I settled on.

I've spent the last week buying the game. The Core rules, Heirs of Blood, the 3 of the 4 small boxes expansions and a few Lieutenants. I'm having a really hard time finding the two big box expansions and now I think I know why.

I originally put it down to Covid19 and supply chain issues as to why there is no stock of anything D2e, But I honestly think it is because 3rd Edition is right around the corner and FFG haven't for a while been printing D2e content. (Please keep in mind, I'm brand new to Descent. I only decided a week ago I want to get involved).

The content I managed to put together I had to buy from no less than 4 stores and so many places are "Sold Out" of Descent content. Even the FFG's website most of the Descent content is "Sold Out"

So I've spent, not a small sum (but affordable) of money on a game that I'm sure is about to be replaced. I feel like I showed up to a great house party at 3am as everyone is either leaving or passing out.

I know many of you who really enjoy the game are probably going to encourage me to open the D2e box and enjoy the game with the expansions I have. But I've done this before with 40k and even video games like ArmA 2. And all you end up doing rushing through what you have so you can get on board with new version of the game and not really getting value for money.

So is D2e really so great that I should just open what I have and enjoy it regardless of 3rd edition being probably less than 6 months away. Or should I return what I've bought and wait until 3rd Edition?

TLDR

• Brand New To Descent
  • Purchased a lot of content, but missing significant expansions.