Deflect question

By Rosco74, in Star Wars: Force and Destiny RPG

Hello, as I said in another thread I am new to the Jedi rules, as I never had one on my table. Here come another problem for me with the reflect talent. For me, when a Jedi reflect a blaster shot, there is no difference between blaster shots. The problem is for exemple between a standard blaster shot wich is 6 damage (so minimum 7 with one success) and a Droideka built-in blaster wich is damage 12 (so minimum 13 with one success)...

According my Starwars experience, and the first movie, Anakin and Ben had no more issue deflecting the Droideka shots than any other blaster shots... The problem is that all is about damage. This talent is less and less usefull as the opposent has a bigger gun. This will for sure push players or Npc to use bigger guns against Jedi.

First scene of The Phantom Menace. As from Rise of the Separatist, Ben has Improved Reflect 4, wich allow him to reduce damage by 6... even with the minimum damage of the Droideka (13) and perfect lightsaber movements we can see in the movie (lol) that's 7 damage as a minimum. Still around 2 after soak reduction. It just point me right as I write this that even a Jedi will still be soak dependent, and thus will search to boost soak with big armors as well because of the Reflect mechanic

So my question is, any one has ever think about a rule for all or nothing deflect like we see in the movies? and not just a nosense damage reduction that I cannot explain to my players. ? Thanks

edit: I think I will just add the Deflect talent level as the Adversary talent. You have deflect 4 ? you upgrade 4 times the difficulty for blasters to shoot you.. less mechanics

Edited by Rosco74
1 hour ago, Rosco74 said:

edit: I think I will just add the Deflect talent level as the Adversary talent. You have deflect 4 ? you upgrade 4 times the difficulty for blasters to shoot you.. less mechanics

This is a bit much.