Combat, Fatigue, Incapacitated, and Critical Strikes

By Vulcan64, in Rules Questions

I am new to the L5R RPG and AI have a question about the timing of combat effects.

Let’s say a Bushi with endurance of 9 total with 4 fatigue is hit with 7 damage after armor and all other damage resistance. Since the fatigue total now exceeds the endurance, does the Bushi immediately become incapacitated and suffer a critical strike? And then become unconscious? Or does the Bushi go to fatigue level 11, take a critical strike, and become just incapacitated? Or, lastly, does the Bushi defend and go to 11 fatigue, become incapacitated, but take NO critical strike? Any FFG YouTube video or third party combat example link would be greatly appreciated!

Edited by Vulcan64

the Bushi defend and go to 11 fatigue, become incapacitated, but take NO critical strike

@Avatar111 is correct.

• Any time your fatigue exceeds your endurance, you are incapacitated.
    • as an aside, Endurance 9 is technically impossible for a PC, as it's (Earth + Fire) x 2 - so must always be an even number greater than 4
  • You do not receive a critical strike for being pushed past your endurance.
  • You are, once Incapacitated , unable to defend, so the next time you suffer damage, you will automatically receive a critical strike and hence, as per the Incapacitated rules, become Unconscious .

There is a possible issue if a PC is rendered incapacitated by a strike action with kept results 792424631_SuccessSmall.png.f580b7641c8c8 792424631_SuccessSmall.png.f580b7641c8c8 1211841275_OpportunitySmall.png.acf41343 1211841275_OpportunitySmall.png.acf41343 , with the 1211841275_OpportunitySmall.png.acf41343 results spent to inflict a critical strike.

The Strike action's opportunity is " 1211841275_OpportunitySmall.png.acf41343 1211841275_OpportunitySmall.png.acf41343 : If you succeed , you inflict a critical strike on your target with severity equal to your weapon’s deadliness."