Can Tyranids parry?

By Phoenix41, in Deathwatch Rules Questions

Hello,

I am new to Deathwatch and am preparing as a GM for a new gaming group.

I already used the search function of the forum but could not find an answer to my question:

Can Tyranids parry?

In the Core Rulebook on p.133 under "Natural Weapons" it says:

"This creature...counts as being armed even when not wielding weapons. (...) it cannot parry with its natural weapons, nor can it be disarmed."

And on p.132 under "Improved Natural Weapons" it says: "This creature's attacks...do not count as Primitive."

But it does not say, that a Tyranid can parry with this weapons.

And on p.242 under "Parry" it says: "If the active character is wielding a melee weapon capable of Parrying, he can attempt to thwart an incoming melee attack (...).

Does that mean, all in all, that all Tyranids with "Improved Natural Weapons" cannot parry, only dodge (if they can)?

And if so, can a Dagon Overlord (Mark of the Xenos, p.39) and a Tyranid Warrior Prime (MoX, p.52) use their Boneswords (Corerulebook, p.373) to parry?

I am just a bit surprised fluff-wise, because I thought, Tyrandis were close combat masters and could use their claws and talons to parry attacks from swords etc.

Thank you in advance for your answers!

Phoenix41

Yes, by RAW you can't parry with Natural or Improved Natural Weapon, listed in the adversaries sheets in brackets after Trait mention, but all weapons listed in the table 13-3 (Corebook p.373) are separate weapons, so Bonesword can be used to parry without any problems.

Hmm, okay - so a Bonesword and a Lash Wip can be used to parry (table 13-3, p.373) but Scything Talons and Rending Claws not because they are always named as Improved Natural Weapons in brackets after the Tait, right?

As DW is of 2010 - does anyone have experiences with the balancing? Will Tyranids be overpowered if one allows parrying with Improved Natural Weapons, too?

8 hours ago, Phoenix41 said: