Aspiring Overlord Tips?

By Hawknight, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

I am pretty new to the wolrd of Descent, and LOVE being the Overlord. I havent even played as a hero yet, and so far my friends don't even want to be the Overlord :) , but i am discovering, playing with 5 of us all the time, it isn't exactly easy to stop the heores. Anyone have any good tips on how to kill them off?

Right now we are playing through the first campaign, quest 5, the one where there are no exits at the end and once they die they die..i have been widdling down thier health, acting like i cant quite kill them, so when they get to that last room they will be easy pickings, but so often the quest design itself makes it incredibly difficult to stop the heroes, or sometimes, even to slow them down.

One easy trick is to attack them with a monster (expecially skeletons) and then walk away. This forces them to either advance (and attack 1 monster) or burn fatigue in order to attack 2. If they burn fatigue, they will edventually run out and be forced to advance.

In 5-man game = spawn, spawn and... more spawn. You have to make heroes to move slowest as they can. Spawn FTW!

Spawns are actually better (proportionately) in a small game, because the heroes use up a larger fraction of their total actions killing a given spawn group. Though spawns tend to be fairly overpowered generally, so spawning a lot in a large game isn't a bad idea, either...you're just less likely to bother with the crappy spawns, like razorwings.

You should be aware that, though the game has some scaling effects based on the number of heroes, they don't really work--the game will be easier for the heroes with more heroes and easier for the Overlord with fewer. So if the heroes are winning all the time, you might consider playing with fewer heroes or giving them some sort of handicap. Adding in treachery from an expansion (if you have one) will also swing things considerably in the OL's favor...