Why would anyone order such a thing?

By Fiddler27, in Only War Game Masters

Hey all,

So this is my first time GMing an Only War game, having been converted over from WoD. I'm moderately familiar with 40k Lore, but I keep struggling with actually making certain characteristics more realistic in the NPCs the players are interacting with. Their regimental Commissar is a shrieking neat freak who's too trigger happy over infractions, but that was a given.

The one thing I desperately need help with is portraying their senior officer's slow slide to insanity, to the point that he'll eventually order their Regiment to march into the webway because he's delusional enough to believe they can conquer Commorragh. The whole idea behind this being since all their characters are straight-laced, by the book guardsmen personality-wise they have to choose between following orders like everyone else and trying to fight their way out of a massacre or making that crucial break from the Guard's chain of command to save their own skins.

1.) Is it even possible for such a thing as an entire regiment to enter the Webway at once, even if the whole thing is a trap arranged by the DE to grab a whole bunch of free slaves? If not, I have an alternate scenario I've been coming up with but I've never encountered this scenario in any of the lore I've read.

2.) How would the Dark Eldar go about twisting the mind of a senior officer into such a trap? I'm more familiar with the insidious powers of Chaos and their ability to infect minds, but I'm not sure if the DE operate the same way.