what should I be setting up as a GM?

By WamblySpoon, in Only War Game Masters

Mainly, what sort of props will I need? I have dice and some miniatures (I play the tabletop game) but it's my first time running a one shot OW session (I planned on running Old Soldiers, unless you guys think it's a better idea to make something up on my own which I'm more than willing to do!) Do I need a playing board for when we get into combat? How should I scale the "Field" so to speak, or do I leave it completely verbal and give it a very loose feel to make combat a little less daunting to them? Any help would be appreciated thank you!

The only "prop" I've ever really used, was a whiteboard (and BFG model for ship combat in RT).

But it's really a matter of taste and style

Leave it verbal, minitures have been one of the biggest tools in the dumbing down process that has ruined countless RPGs and almost killed P&P.

If you absolutely must flash your models about use them as examples of things "this is what a commissar/lasgun/autocannon looks like" and such.

If you absolutly cannot avoid it use a pad and pencil to sketch maps of combat locales, to aid players (and you) withkeepig track of where everyone is.

Edited by Askil

The only thing I ever prepared were maps, to give the players a general feel of ranges and terrain. Otherwise, keep it verbal.

I always keep it verbal. In addition, I tend to design my own adventures. Especially since I joined here. So many ideas available for sneaky usage, and if you're still stuck, nobody cares if you ask.

No no I've been enjoying the feedback I'm excited to make it verbal I feel like it'll be much faster and interesting for the whole group! Another question I have is how long does it normally take to finish say, the first chapter of Old Soldiers because of a time constraint for my group we'd have 5 hours? I'd imagine that's a good amount of time probably more than needed unless they're really into it hah