The Real Comprehensive Rules and Rulings Thread (from Heart Forums)(PLEASE RESTICKY)

By Roxas2, in Rules Discussions

This has been bothering me for a while. There is a major error in one of your rulings, I believe.

The above states that:

Q: How do doubling worlds work?
A: The damage multiplier works as thus: The first “Fire” is doubled to 8 damage, the second “Fire” damage tripled to 12, and the third quadrupled to 16.

This is incorrect. The worlds that double magic simply double all magic damage from each card played, regardless of how many you play. Playing 3 fire magic cards would simply double each one to 8 damage apiece. There is no special effect for playing multiple magic cards.

The phrase "For each additional doubling effect used, the multiplier increases by one" refers to the interaction between (for example) the world and Sora (Wisdom Form). The world says to double damage, and Wisdom form does as well. This means that you are now using two "Doubling effects," therefore instead of the damage being double doubled (Quadrupled), it would be tripled. Thus, a Wisdom form Sora playing a "Fire" magic card on Wonderland Level 2 would deal (4 x 3) = 12 damage with that card, not (4 x 2 x 2) = 16 damage.

If there is an official ruling to the contrary that I am not aware of, I would appreciate clarity on this. I do believe, however, this was the ruling from Jaffer and Rob several sets ago.

This is how it works. I didn't bother to look up, but do you add before you double? In the case of Axel?

This, again, begs the question of whether or not people actually read the **** cards

Oathkeeper said:

This has been bothering me for a while. There is a major error in one of your rulings, I believe.

The above states that:

Q: How do doubling worlds work?
A: The damage multiplier works as thus: The first “Fire” is doubled to 8 damage, the second “Fire” damage tripled to 12, and the third quadrupled to 16.

This is incorrect. The worlds that double magic simply double all magic damage from each card played, regardless of how many you play. Playing 3 fire magic cards would simply double each one to 8 damage apiece. There is no special effect for playing multiple magic cards.

The phrase "For each additional doubling effect used, the multiplier increases by one" refers to the interaction between (for example) the world and Sora (Wisdom Form). The world says to double damage, and Wisdom form does as well. This means that you are now using two "Doubling effects," therefore instead of the damage being double doubled (Quadrupled), it would be tripled. Thus, a Wisdom form Sora playing a "Fire" magic card on Wonderland Level 2 would deal (4 x 3) = 12 damage with that card, not (4 x 2 x 2) = 16 damage.

If there is an official ruling to the contrary that I am not aware of, I would appreciate clarity on this. I do believe, however, this was the ruling from Jaffer and Rob several sets ago.

I personally believe that Wisdom Form's 'Doubling Effect' works in the same manner as the other effects, and just adds to the damage multiplier as with all the other damage multiplying effects.

The problem is that that's not what the answer says at all. The answer implies that your first Fire effect card is doubled, while the next one is trippled, etc.

no this is what the damage multiplyer means (at least this one makes more sense).

here's the text from agraba lvl 3

All magic damage is doubled here. For each additional doubling effect card used, the damage multiplier increases by 1.

when you play fire it deals 4 damage

on a world where fire is doubled fire deals 8 damage

now lest say you had wisdom form and you are on a world where fire is doubled, the damage is then 12 (the damage multiplier increases from 2 to 3).

and if you had something that made it a 3rd multipler to the equation it becomes 16 damage(the damage multiplier moves from 3 to 4).

This is made so that if you had like 3 multipliers, the damage from a fire card isn't 32 damage.

nowhere on the card does it say for every card effected by this the multiplier increase.

Q: How do doubling worlds work?
A: The damage multiplier works as thus: The first “Fire” is doubled to 8 damage, the second “Fire” damage tripled to 12, and the third quadrupled to 16.

When it stated first second and third it didn't mean the amount of magic to play to gain the doubling effects. The first second and third meant the multipliers. The first multiply makes you 1 Fire card double into 8, the second muultiplier makes your 1 fire tripled to 8 and etc. It didn't mean your second fire spell and such.

monkeyboi said:

no this is what the damage multiplyer means (at least this one makes more sense).

here's the text from agraba lvl 3

All magic damage is doubled here. For each additional doubling effect card used, the damage multiplier increases by 1.

when you play fire it deals 4 damage

on a world where fire is doubled fire deals 8 damage

now lest say you had wisdom form and you are on a world where fire is doubled, the damage is then 12 (the damage multiplier increases from 2 to 3).

and if you had something that made it a 3rd multipler to the equation it becomes 16 damage(the damage multiplier moves from 3 to 4).

This is made so that if you had like 3 multipliers, the damage from a fire card isn't 32 damage.

nowhere on the card does it say for every card effected by this the multiplier increase.

Yes, we know, the problem is that that's what this ruling thread is saying.

That's what the version on the original boards said since I haven't changed anything other than add in some of the new Rules. It is also the correct ruling since increasing the multiplier to 2 would double to 8 and so on and so forth. However I have put in the question to jaffer to hopefully get a more clear ruling since it seems that people don't agree.

Also if someone would like to compile a list of the new rules since Set 4 and put them on here so I can add them, that would be much appreciated.

I don't know if this has bee asked, but with heartless being limited to 3 unless stated,

Could I run a new version of a heartless with an old version if the levels are different, like with friend cards, and the same with Magic and other things? Since we now have Stop as a lv 3 & 4 Magic?

Roxas said:

That's what the version on the original boards said since I haven't changed anything other than add in some of the new Rules. It is also the correct ruling since increasing the multiplier to 2 would double to 8 and so on and so forth.

The problem is that the way it's worded, your 3rd "Fire" card played does quadruple damage under something that says "double fire damage." I'm pretty sure we're all in agreeance that the number of times you've played the card has no bearing on the damage done. Someone got confused and read "for each additional doubling effect," and mistook it as "for each additional doubled effect." Sora Valor Form + Agrabah, for instance, triples damage of all magic cards there. Regardless of the number of them you've played.

Maybe I missed this, but additive effects, like the new Fira or Axel, assumedly occur before doubling?

Roxas said:

That's what the version on the original boards said since I haven't changed anything other than add in some of the new Rules. It is also the correct ruling since increasing the multiplier to 2 would double to 8 and so on and so forth. However I have put in the question to jaffer to hopefully get a more clear ruling since it seems that people don't agree.

Also if someone would like to compile a list of the new rules since Set 4 and put them on here so I can add them, that would be much appreciated.

I'll do that and post an all new Rules and Rulings Thread...maybe have Jaffer Sticky and Lock it so it can be cleaner looking. And also so I can get back to updating it myself as it was kind of, shall I say, "stolen" from me.

I'm sending an email to Jaffer to get that cleared up.

Sorry about that Mr. Dawn, it wasn't brought over yet, so I brought it over in case it would have been deleted and we would have needed to start from scratch.

Roxas said:

I'm sending an email to Jaffer to get that cleared up.

Sorry about that Mr. Dawn, it wasn't brought over yet, so I brought it over in case it would have been deleted and we would have needed to start from scratch.

No Worries sir...Jaffer was supposed to put up what we had so far on the main page when it changed over to this one...but it just ended up being something else he forgot about...so it was a big mix up...a really lame one at that...I ask, for the millionth time, why couldn't they have just kept the old Forums up and running!?

If my opponent plays 3 pot spders (set 4) on my lv 3 world and i have no friends or magic./frends..do i lose 3hp or just 1hp???

Well at the bottom it says "Note: this effect is not cumulative".

But I'm not quite sure what that means. It could mean:

A) The effect only works once per turn, no matter how many extra pot spiders you play (Most likely, IMO)

B) The effect only works once per game (Not that likely, but some might read it that way)

C) Something entirely different.

Sluppie said:

Well at the bottom it says "Note: this effect is not cumulative".

But I'm not quite sure what that means. It could mean:

A) The effect only works once per turn, no matter how many extra pot spiders you play (Most likely, IMO)

B) The effect only works once per game (Not that likely, but some might read it that way)

C) Something entirely different.

this was the answer i got from jaffer when i asked him 4 times.

What Note: This effect is not cumulative means is that the Pot Spider's effect does not continue turn-after-turn, like Wyvern's or Pirate's ability would. It's -1 HP effect is a _v_ come-into-play effect that activates only once. It will activate each time a new Pot Spider is played if the conditions are still met, so, for example, if you played 3 Pot Spiders on your opponent's Level 3 World, and your opponent did not have any Friends or Magic/Friends in play, your opponent would lose 3 HP.

man pot spider got better! awesome and that could work super well with wisdom sora for a form of wisdom aggro lmao it wouldnt be correct or right to do so but it would be funny lol

Darkwing Duck said:

this was the answer i got from jaffer when i asked him 4 times.

What Note: This effect is not cumulative means is that the Pot Spider's effect does not continue turn-after-turn, like Wyvern's or Pirate's ability would. It's -1 HP effect is a _v_ come-into-play effect that activates only once. It will activate each time a new Pot Spider is played if the conditions are still met, so, for example, if you played 3 Pot Spiders on your opponent's Level 3 World, and your opponent did not have any Friends or Magic/Friends in play, your opponent would lose 3 HP.

DD and I talked about this last night in Chatzy, and I'm going to shoot Jaffer an email asking about it as well, because this isn't even kind of what cumulative means, and the fact that it's an entering play effect keeps it from activating every turn.

I have some common instances that come up in gameplay that I need some clarification please.

Example 1:

After a card effect resolves that involves discarding itself (Beast, Tidus, etc.), can you then play another copy of that same card from your hand?

Example 2:

After a battle/challenge resolves and whatever friend(s) you used are discarded, can you then play a copy of that friend from your hand?

Example 3:

If you are completely out of cards, and you use a search ability (Destiny Islands, The King, etc.); would you then shuffle your discard pile back in and search, or would the effect just be negated?

Example 4:

To clarify on what I read above regarding the Wonderland Lv 3 world card; am I to understand the only the owner of the world card cannot play any new friend, magic/friend, or dark cards as long as it is their top world card? And the opponent my play as normal? And also when battling/challenging on this world card, are friend and magic/friend cards not allowed to take part?

Example 5:

Auron vs Ariel. Which effect resolves first? Can Auron discard Ariel with his effect before she can use hers?

Thank you very much for the help. These instances come up just about every game, and would clear up alot of confusion if they were answered.

Spirit of Xehanort said:

I have some common instances that come up in gameplay that I need some clarification please.

Example 1:

After a card effect resolves that involves discarding itself (Beast, Tidus, etc.), can you then play another copy of that same card from your hand?

Example 2:

After a battle/challenge resolves and whatever friend(s) you used are discarded, can you then play a copy of that friend from your hand?

Example 3:

If you are completely out of cards, and you use a search ability (Destiny Islands, The King, etc.); would you then shuffle your discard pile back in and search, or would the effect just be negated?

Example 4:

To clarify on what I read above regarding the Wonderland Lv 3 world card; am I to understand the only the owner of the world card cannot play any new friend, magic/friend, or dark cards as long as it is their top world card? And the opponent my play as normal? And also when battling/challenging on this world card, are friend and magic/friend cards not allowed to take part?

Example 5:

Auron vs Ariel. Which effect resolves first? Can Auron discard Ariel with his effect before she can use hers?

Thank you very much for the help. These instances come up just about every game, and would clear up alot of confusion if they were answered.

1) Yes
2) After battle yes, after challenge no
3) I believe the search is negated. Though if you were drawing your discard pile would be shuffled
4) That is correct, although friends and already in play magical friends may participate in both battles and challenges.
5) Auron's effect activates as he goes to the discard pile, Ariel's is during the damage step. So Ariel would not be able to be negated by Auron. (don't quote me on this, but I would imagine that would be how it works.)

Spirit of Xehanort said:

After a card effect resolves that involves discarding itself (Beast, Tidus, etc.), can you then play another copy of that same card from your hand?

After a Battle you can, because Battles take place in the Action phase. After a challenge you wouldn't be able to because you've entered your Challenge phase.

Spirit of Xehanort said:

After a battle/challenge resolves and whatever friend(s) you used are discarded, can you then play a copy of that friend from your hand?

No, since the Challenge phase is after the Action phase, and it is in the Action phase that you play Friend cards.

Spirit of Xehanort said:

If you are completely out of cards, and you use a search ability (Destiny Islands, The King, etc.); would you then shuffle your discard pile back in and search, or would the effect just be negated?

Hmmm, an interesting question (And one that I don't recall from before...). I'd say that it gets negated, since it targets your current deck which doesn't contain the card you've declared. As far as I know, you only shuffle your discard pile into your deck zone when you have to draw a card, not search for.

Spirit of Xehanort said:

To clarify on what I read above regarding the Wonderland Lv 3 world card; am I to understand the only the owner of the world card cannot play any new friend, magic/friend, or dark cards as long as it is their top world card? And the opponent my play as normal? And also when battling/challenging on this world card, are friend and magic/friend cards not allowed to take part?

Indeed, your opponent is free to continue playing Friend and Magic/Friend cards (It's not your opponent who's on the World, y'see?). Friends are still allowed to take part in Battles/Challenges.

Spirit of Xehanort said:

Auron vs Ariel. Which effect resolves first? Can Auron discard Ariel with his effect before she can use hers?

I presume you mean Ariel LVL4 from L&D?

I believe that Auron would activate first. In the rulebook it states that you decide the victor and then deal the damage. From my point of view, once declared victor you have won the challenge and Auron may use his effect, after the victor has been stated then HP loss happens which is when Ariel's effect would take place, which means that Auron activates in that limbo-step between declaring victors and losing HP.

*TWaCK!!*

Found this on page 3. It really needs a sticky, or somethin to keep it from fallin each time...

Roxas said:

Q: What Happens if I run out of cards in my deck? Do I lose the game?

A: No. You simply Reshuffle your discard pile back into your deck and continue playing.

According to this, you reshuffle the moment you run out of cards.

Pg. 21 "Details of Game Play" (new rulebook)

If a player draws the last card in his/her deck, his/her discard pile is shuffled and placed facedown in the Deck area of his/her play mat. That player continues drawing cards if necessary.

This seems to be a slight variation of the previous rulebook's definition of when to reshuffle (if I remember correctly). From my understanding, you used to only reshuffle if you needed to draw cards, but couldn't. However, reading this ruling seems to state otherwise. I guess they figured it'd clear up a few ruling problems to do it this way

Always remember, when looking for a ruling check the official rulebook first

devilmonkey said:

Pg. 21 "Details of Game Play" (new rulebook)

If a player draws the last card in his/her deck, his/her discard pile is shuffled and placed facedown in the Deck area of his/her play mat. That player continues drawing cards if necessary.

This seems to be a slight variation of the previous rulebook's definition of when to reshuffle (if I remember correctly). From my understanding, you used to only reshuffle if you needed to draw cards, but couldn't. However, reading this ruling seems to state otherwise. I guess they figured it'd clear up a few ruling problems to do it this way

Always remember, when looking for a ruling check the official rulebook first

kudo points sir.

It was originally when you needed to draw, but apparently they dont want any last minute cards hitting the discard and being recycled.