Carrying capacity?

By Harpazo, in Deathwatch Gamemasters

How many clips can each Space Marine carry and how many weapons can they slot on their person? Can they sling a heavy weapon on their back or permanently taking up one hand just to carry the thing? Are there rules to govern what they have space for?

I see the rules for carrying capacity on page 208 and I don't want to rehash a dead horse. I'm new to this and haven't even DMed the first session of Deathwatch, I just wanted to have a response for the rules when my players go, "Sooo... how many rounds do I have?"

Edited by Harpazo

Aside from total weight limitation (which, as per the rules-as-written, is a bit ridiculous), there is no hard and fast rule for such limitations. As far as I know, every GM uses their own method - or does not enforce any limits at all. I believe the book suggests starting with at least 3 clips of ammo for every weapon, but iirc it was not capped.

Here is a previous thread discussing the same issue, with some input from other players, as well as suggestions to use in your game.

Personally, I'd say this is something your group should determine by itself. Look at Space Marine artwork and think about where you would put all the stuff you want to bring along without making your characters look silly. :)

I did a search of this after posting the topic, 'cause I had seen some various threads on it and wondered if there was any reasonable consensus on it. I see the one primary, two secondary for their characters, which is good. Everyone wants options. But the ammo thing is going to kill my team hardcore if they don't get reloads. As it is, having a fire selector gives the marines their best option because it assures they have at least three clips docked in their weapons they can draw from before worrying about a reload.