Questions on: Delayed - Travel tickets - Eliminated

By Roanoss, in General Discussion

Hi Everyone,

After a couple of games I would have some questions towards the expert players.

1) Delayed

- The reference card says this:

A Delayed investigator cannot perform any actions. If an investigator becomes Delayed on his turn during the Action Phase , he immediately ends his action and loses all remaining actions instead of becoming Delayed. Instead of performing actions during the Action Phase, a Delayed investigator rights his Investigator token and is no longer delayed.

- The FAQ released on 20th December says this:

If an investigator becomes Delayed during the Action Phase, he immediately ends his current action, loses any remaining actions, and ends his turn instead. If the investigator has no actions remaining to lose, he will not become Delayed, and he will be able to perform actions in the next round.

The above are a bit confusing.

Question 1: How exactly the Delayed affects a player if you receive it in the encounter/mythos phase? Your full next action phase will be skipped but then you can do the encounter / fight with the monster on your spot?

2) Travel tickets

- The rulebook says this:

After moving, the investigator may spend any number of travel tickets to move one additional space per ticket spent. Investigators can only spend Train Tickets to move along Train paths, and Ship Tickets to move along Ship paths.

Question 2: Does this mean that I can move one space as a normal action, then able to spend even 2 tickets for 2 different transportation method, like:

Moving from location 'A' to 'B': normal move action

From 'B' to 'C' via a valid ship route: 1st ticket used

From 'C' to 'D' via a valid train route: 2nd tcket used

Is this possible?

3) Eliminated

You are playing a 2 person game and the Ancient One is still sleeping. Player 1 is defeated by a monster in a combat, and in the same round Player 2 is defeated by the round's last event, the text effect from the Mythos card.

Does this means that the game is over and the investigators lost? Since, logically at the end of the Mythos phase, all players are dead until they are not reloading themselves back to the map with 1-1 new character. They could do this, but still, there is a certain period when we have to consider both of them as dead.

Thank you very much for your answers in advance.

Question 1: How exactly the Delayed affects a player if you receive it in the encounter/mythos phase? Your full next action phase will be skipped but then you can do the encounter / fight with the monster on your spot?

Yes, you are right.

Question 2: Does this mean that I can move one space as a normal action, then able to spend even 2 tickets for 2 different transportation method, like:

Moving from location 'A' to 'B': normal move action

From 'B' to 'C' via a valid ship route: 1st ticket used

From 'C' to 'D' via a valid train route: 2nd tcket used

Is this possible?

Yes, this is right. Reminding you the first move is always "free", you can't spend your ticket(s) in your first move. Just then you can spend the tickets (ship/ship, train/train, ship/train or train/ship) to move again and again and all of these moves are included in your "travel" action.

Sylas Marsh can move FIVE spaces (as long as you have 2 tickets) in a single round if he uses his special action skill AND the travel action. Sylas special action skill DOESN'T count as your travel action.

3) Eliminated

You are playing a 2 person game and the Ancient One is still sleeping. Player 1 is defeated by a monster in a combat, and in the same round Player 2 is defeated by the round's last event, the text effect from the Mythos card.

Does this means that the game is over and the investigators lost? Since, logically at the end of the Mythos phase, all players are dead until they are not reloading themselves back to the map with 1-1 new character. They could do this, but still, there is a certain period when we have to consider both of them as dead.

No, when you are defeated you lay your investigator marker (as you do when you become delayed) and put a stamina or sanity token depending on how you were defeated. Any investigator can go there to get the possessions of your character and try to do a test to retreat the doom track by 1. Remembering that if you are DEVOURED, you don't do that. In both cases, you come back to the game (picking a new investigator who were not being defeated or devoured in this same match) when the next mythos phase ends UNLESS the ancient one awakens before the ending of the mythos phase (eg. in the MIDDLE of the mythos phase). Don't forget to advance the doom each time an investigator is defeated or devoured, regardless if they were eliminated or not. Follow the rules of advancing doom in the case the investigator is defeated or devoured when the ancient one is already awakened.

It would only be game over if you were fighting against azathoth, the doom track is at 1 and one of the investigators is defeated or devoured because you'd have to advanced the doom track by 1. Azathoth would awaken and when he awakens is game over.

I just want to remind you that ALL mysteries are just solved in the end of a mythos phase (because all mystery cards of eldritch horror says that). If you meet the requirements to solve a mystery, you'll need to wait until the ending of the next mythos phase to draw a new one (or win the game if it's the 3rd mystery). The only exception is the final mystery. The final mystery is solved as soon as the investigators meet its requirements. You can even lose the game after meeting the requirements of the 3rd mystery (eg. Azathoth awakens in the same round, before the end of your next mythos phase) or you will need to do the the final mystery (in the case of the other ancient ones awakening in the same round you've met the requirements of your 3rd mystery).

Edited by Nainphy

Nainphy, not so sure on how Silas could move five spaces in one turn. I agree with you, his special ability doesn't count against the normal actions, but still, he should be able to move a max of four spaces: 1 for his special ability, 1 for choosing the Travel action, and 2 more for the tickets. Or? Mind helping? :)

Nainphy,
Thank you very much for your answer. Yep I was aware of the explanation about 3), I was just not sure that what happens if at a certain moment, with a positive Doom track number, is that a defeat if everyone dies in the same round or not. Luckily it is not tragedy :P , which is good to hear.

Points one and two are now just confirmed me that I'm doing it correctly so thank you for this also.

I would have a 4th, bonus question about the selection of Investigators what I sadly missed out.

4) Investigator selection

The rulebook says this:

Starting with the Lead Investigator and proceeding clockwise, each player chooses one investigator.

What exactly 'chooses' means? Choosing randomly, or directly able to select the Investigator he or she would like to play with? And then, if someone is Devoured or Defeated, the new investigator (if able to use a new) should be again randomly selected or directly?

Edited by Croaton

Croaton,

let me add a point to Nainphy's detailed answer. If having the "whole party" devoured implied game over, then 1-investigator games would be completely broken. So, everyone's devoured implies new characters for everyone arriving soonish (unless end of game conditions are triggered)

As for your question: I've always read "chooses" as "selects", both during setup and for investigators being defeated / devoured. So, no random (unless you will), but cherry-picking selections.

I think i didn't make it too clear: he moves 4 times in a total of 5 spaces (A to B with his special skill, B to C with his normal travel action, C to D with the first ticket and D to E with his second ticket).

4) Investigator selection

The rulebook says this:

Quote

Starting with the Lead Investigator and proceeding clockwise, each player chooses one investigator.

What exactly 'chooses' means? Choosing randomly, or directly able to select the Investigator he or she would like to play with? And then, if someone is Devoured or Defeated, the new investigator (if able to use a new) should be again randomly selected or directly?

You can choose your investigators in the beginning (picking the ones you want) and when you are defeated or devoured (as long as the AO doesn't awaken).

I want to remind you that if you are playing strictly by the rules the step 3 of the setup phase is choosing an investigator and step 5 is choosing the AO. So you FIRST choose your investigators and THEN you choose the AO.

Edited by Nainphy

Nainphy, not so sure on how Silas could move five spaces in one turn. I agree with you, his special ability doesn't count against the normal actions, but still, he should be able to move a max of four spaces: 1 for his special ability, 1 for choosing the Travel action, and 2 more for the tickets. Or? Mind helping? :)

Question 1: How exactly the Delayed affects a player if you receive it in the encounter/mythos phase? Your full next action phase will be skipped but then you can do the encounter / fight with the monster on your spot?

Yes, you are right.

Question 2: Does this mean that I can move one space as a normal action, then able to spend even 2 tickets for 2 different transportation method, like:

Moving from location 'A' to 'B': normal move action

From 'B' to 'C' via a valid ship route: 1st ticket used

From 'C' to 'D' via a valid train route: 2nd tcket used

Is this possible?

Yes, this is right. Reminding you the first move is always "free", you can't spend your ticket(s) in your first move. Just then you can spend the tickets (ship/ship, train/train, ship/train or train/ship) to move again and again and all of these moves are included in your "travel" action.

Sylas Marsh can move FIVE spaces (as long as you have 2 tickets) in a single round if he uses his special action skill AND the travel action. Sylas special action skill DOESN'T count as your travel action.

3) Eliminated

You are playing a 2 person game and the Ancient One is still sleeping. Player 1 is defeated by a monster in a combat, and in the same round Player 2 is defeated by the round's last event, the text effect from the Mythos card.

Does this means that the game is over and the investigators lost? Since, logically at the end of the Mythos phase, all players are dead until they are not reloading themselves back to the map with 1-1 new character. They could do this, but still, there is a certain period when we have to consider both of them as dead.

No, when you are defeated you lay your investigator marker (as you do when you become delayed) and put a stamina or sanity token depending on how you were defeated. Any investigator can go there to get the possessions of your character and try to do a test to retreat the doom track by 1. Remembering that if you are DEVOURED, you don't do that. In both cases, you come back to the game (picking a new investigator who were not being defeated or devoured in this same match) when the next mythos phase ends UNLESS the ancient one awakens before the ending of the mythos phase (eg. in the MIDDLE of the mythos phase). Don't forget to advance the doom each time an investigator is defeated or devoured, regardless if they were eliminated or not. Follow the rules of advancing doom in the case the investigator is defeated or devoured when the ancient one is already awakened.

It would only be game over if you were fighting against azathoth, the doom track is at 1 and one of the investigators is defeated or devoured because you'd have to advanced the doom track by 1. Azathoth would awaken and when he awakens is game over.

I just want to remind you that ALL mysteries are just solved in the end of a mythos phase (because all mystery cards of eldritch horror says that). If you meet the requirements to solve a mystery, you'll need to wait until the ending of the next mythos phase to draw a new one (or win the game if it's the 3rd mystery). The only exception is the final mystery. The final mystery is solved as soon as the investigators meet its requirements. You can even lose the game after meeting the requirements of the 3rd mystery (eg. Azathoth awakens in the same round, before the end of your next mythos phase) or you will need to do the the final mystery (in the case of the other ancient ones awakening in the same round you've met the requirements of your 3rd mystery).

Hey guys! In the rule book it says that when using Silas' special free move you cannot use travel tickets :)

Hey guys! In the rule book it says that when using Silas' special free move you cannot use travel tickets :)

Yes, but after having used the special free move, you can use the normal move action to move three steps (free step+2 tickets) for a total of four steps in a round.

Edited by Ralzar

Hey guys! In the rule book it says that when using Silas' special free move you cannot use travel tickets :)

Yes, but after having used the special free move, you can use the normal move action to move three steps (free step+2 tickets) for a total of four steps in a round.

Correct., That's the point: rulebook implies you cannot do the following: special ability + travel ticket. But using "travel + travel ticket" is a perfectly viable move, and the special ability doesn't count as a travel action. Hence, 4 steps total are possible

Charter Flight + Silas Special + Travel +Ticket +Ticket = Other Side of the Board

Miskatonic Air: we get you where you need to be when you need to be there. (Ask about our "Marsh" family special deals).

I believe Silas can potentially move up to Four spaces only during his action phase.

Component Action : Moves 1 space along a ship path and then an "additional" action which CAN be a travel action and the corresponding use of travel tickets as per rules.

Cannot effects are absolute and the rules state you cannot perform 2 actions of the same type in a round. The descriptor of Silas ability in the reference guide is worded poorly in my opinion and is referring to that "free" Ship path move as opposed to actual "Full" actions.

Silas cannot spend travel tickets to move additional spaces when using his action ability.

I think this is actually referring to the initial free move along the ship path and not the "entire" component action.

The additional action granted by this ability does not count against his usual two actions per round.

Again this is referring to the free ship path move and that it isn't an actual action in it's own right. In other words that free move along a ship path can be done as well as your usual two actions.

He may use his action ability and the Travel action during the same round.

This action ability is actually referring to the free move again and not the entire component action which can cause confusion and lead some to think that they can perform two travel actions in the same round which you cannot.

The descriptor on P13 of the ref guide think should have been worded like this.

The initial free move along a ship patch is "not" an official travel action and so cannot be further enhanced by travel tickets. Because the free move is not considered an official action then you may use an official travel action as your additional action or second action as normal.

Silas dominates the waves in EH which is the point of his action ability. He is able to circumnavigate quickly whilst doing other things to suit his mission.

Examples of Silas action phases:

1) Silas needs to get from Space 20 to Buenos But he needs some equipment from Lily who is at Sydney. He uses his Component action to take a free move from space 20 to Sydney and performs a trade action as his additional. For his second action he heads east to space 3 and then spends 1 ship ticket to get to Buenos Aries.

2) Silas is in Tokyo hurting after a tough fight. He uses his component action to free move to Shanghai and Rests as his additional action. For his second action he performs an aquire asset action to get some monster killing gear.

Combine him with charlie Kane and you get some seriously effective combos available. However the limit of only one action type still applies.

If you start going into performing two actions of the same type with Silas you open up a whole can of worms concerning other characters such as Charlie Kane granting other investigators actions that they have already performed or even the crazy idea that Silas could do three travel actions. in one round.

Edited by GrimGuvna