Rule Questin about Lola Hayes' Ability

By mateooo, in General Discussion

Does Lola's ability to spend improvement tokens to improve 1 skill allow her to get more than +2 to a single skill?

Looking at the rulebook, it says effects on components and card trumps rulebook when contradictions occur, and the rule book says you can only improve an ability twice

The Lola ability reads
"Spend any number of improvement tokens, then improve 1 skill of your choice for each token spent" (a +2 token counts as two tokens.)

here is a trick. if you have skill token +1 you cannot improve another skill it to +2. key word here is spend…..

first you spend you token is gone…..now how you can improve it to 2????? you can only improve other skill by 1 since you already spend your improve token he is not on a charachter **** got it? but if you have skill token +2 yes you can improve a anothter skill by 2. Hope it helps.

No no no... reference guide says the max on a single skill is +2. You are wrong glaurung... you can't have +3 in a single skill. Even with a improved token +2 and another token +1... there's no trick here, max is +2. Follow the rules! I start to think Tib's statistics may be wrong. People want to be "smart". That way you are improving a skill by +3.

Edited by Nainphy

Nainphy is correct but didn't explain it fully (sorry, Nainphy).

According to the Reference Guide, page 13, under "Lola Hayes" it says:

- When Lola uses her action ability, each "+2" Improvement token she spends counts as two "+1" Improvement tokens.

All spent tokens are discarded.

She can choose to improve the same skill twice with this ability if she has spent an appropriate number of Improvement tokens..

This in conjunction with the Reference Guide, page 7, under "Improving Skills":

- When an investigator improves a skill, he gains an Improvement toekn for that skill with the "+1" side up.

If an investigator improves a skill and already has an Improvement token for that skill, he flips that token to the "+2" side instead.

- An investogator cannot improve a single skill more that twice.

Note the keyword " cannot " which is explained on the very first page of the Reference Guide under "The Golden Rule":

- If an effect uses the word "cannot", that effect is absolute.

So what does all this mean?

It means you cannot improve a skill more than twice (thus the +2 side of the Improvement tokens) which also means you cannot increase your skill more than +2 with Skill Improvement.

You can , however, boost your skills with cards such as Allies and Items, but as discussed elsewhere, you can only use the biggest bonus from a given type of source once .

I hope this clears up any misunderstandings.

Cheers.

Lola's ability basically just boils down to being able to rearrange her skill bonuses however you wish, but the +2 max improvement is still in effect.