timings

By monk, in General Discussion

If you draw a mythos card and it causes something to drawn (eg monster) and then there is an effect that causes the drawn item (eg monster) to respond do you activate it. I.e. a mythos card had a monster drawn and the mythos card also had reckoning effect, does the new monster card activate in this step?

Also, I had a zombie token on the board that caused the epic token to be placed. Next turn I killed the normal zombie token and then another zombie token spawned. The epic zombie token placement came up again, so, do i ignore it or move the epic token again?

Thanks

Hopefully someone else can give you a more useful answer, as I don't entirely understand your question - not having come across this yet.

But my experience of playing - and consulting the rules - was that the order in which things happen is now clear. You work your way through the card, doing one thing after another. So if something is drawn at one step it's now on the board and in the game and ready to be activated by any further steps. As long as you follow the correct order for doing things, it looked reasonably simple to me. It looks like the confusion comes in when you expect several things to be happening at the same time when in fact, they don't.

From the Reference Guide, pag. 9 (under Reckoning)

If a Monster is spawned or an investigator gains a component while investigators are resolving Reckoning effects, they do not resolve the Reckoning effect on that Monster or component.

So, if you have a Zombie activating and becoming a Zombie Horde, the Horde doesn't activate this Mythos phase. For other conundrums, resolve effects as per rulebook, pag 10: as you cans see, Reckoning effects are resolved immediately after verifying the eventual doom advance (and clearly only if the icon is triggered by the Mythos card), so I don't see any possible further interactions. But if you came across a particular issue (or I didn't get your query), please post the details so that we can see how to rule this out :)

Epic Monsters are never moved. So, if you have a Zombie activating and a Zombie Horde somewhere else on the board, you don't move the Zombie Horde. If the Zombie Horde is not in play, then you return the Zombie token to the monster cup and spawn the Horde.

Hope this helps

Also, I had a zombie token on the board that caused the epic token to be placed. Next turn I killed the normal zombie token and then another zombie token spawned. The epic zombie token placement came up again, so, do i ignore it or move the epic token again?

About the zombie horde. When you defeat an epic monster, the epic monster token goes to the box (removed from the game) - page 6 of the reference guide. So if you have defeated a zombie horde, draws another zombie and the reckoning of this second zombie says to put a second zombie horde in the same match, you ignore it. Because you don't have any more zombie hordes to get (there's only one zombie horde epic token in the game and it was removed from the game when you defeated). ;)

I do remember reading somewhere (here or on BBG) that the Zombie Horde can come back unless it's already on the board.

Example 1:

A zombie becomes a horde during a Mythos phase and is killed during the next turn.

The Zombie Horde goes back to the "box".

Next turn a Zombie is spawned when a gate appears during the Mythos phase.

Next Mythos phase, again, a reckoning effect occurs and the Zombie becomes a Zombie Horde (again).

Example 2:

A zombie becomes a horde during a Mythos phase.

Another Zombie cannot become a horde because the horde is already on the board in any subsequent Mythos phase.

This is how my group has been playing it after we found the discussion (which I for some reason fail to find now).

I don't think so. The effect of the reckoning in the back of the zombie doesn't say specifically to get the zombie horde from the box (it only says to spawn a zombie horde on its space) and a card that is on the box can only come to play again if an effect says specifically to come back.

Page 10 of the reference book says: Components that have been returned to the game box are removed from the game unless specifically recalled from the game box.

Edited by Nainphy

The Zombie Horde is the only Epic Monster that theoretically could come back multiple times as far as I'm aware of; everything else is tied to a card or specific event that can happen a maximum of one time in play. So bringing the Zombie Horde in line with that reasoning seems fair.

I thought about this conundrum for a while, and while I agree with Nainphy that Epic Monsters are returned to the box after being defeated, I don't see this a problem for them being summoned again. If we look at pag. 10 of the Reference Guide, under Return to the Box, we read:

Components that have been returned to the game box are removed from the game unless specifically recalled from the game box.

We can see that this is clearly the case of Epic Monsters: on pag. 15 of the Rulebook, we read:

Epic Monsters are spawned by specific effects that call them out by name

So, Epic Monsters are spawned by specific effects (Rules, pag. 15), and specific effects also allow returned to the box components to enter play again (Ref guide 10), hence a Zombie Horde can be summoned again by a new Zombie token. It doesn't seem to contradict the rules.

Roger \o

I have submitted a rules question to FFG, we shall see what the official ruling will be.

Sorry to revive an old topic, but what was the answer to this:

I have submitted a rules question to FFG, we shall see what the official ruling will be.

I never received a response from them.

Possibly, mail them back, usually they answer rules question within a week from receiving the query (usually it's faster)