I've run into a situation that, I think, leaves wiggle room for munchkins. Let me describe it, then you can straighten me out.
I have the following assets:
- Bull Whip (+1 str, reroll 1 die)
- .45 (+3 str)
- Kerosene (+5 str on discard)
The Reference states (Tests - Determine Dice Pool): "He may use one effect that provides a bonus. If multiple effects provide a bonus, he uses only the highest bonus."
Now, the bonus, in my opinion, is the +1, +3, or +5. Is the bonus intended to also include the reroll? If I have a reroll on other cards, can I choose to use the +3 from the .45, and also the reroll on the bullwhip? Is the intention supposed to be something like this: "On any test, an investigator may choose one, and only one, asset to aid his chances of success."?
I was wondering if perhaps different classes of assets could be applied seperatly. If I had an ally the provides +1 str and also a weapon, I don't see a logical reason for only using one or the other. The ally stands beside me and the weapon is in my hand. Some artifacts are logically 'wearable' and could provide a bonus along with a weapon. Could I use a weapon and a spell?
Again, the phrasing of "one effect that provides a bonus" leaves it up to interpretation. What's your call on this one?
Edit: Ok, I saw the FAQ, and they named the exact same two cards. Perhaps I internalized this and then doubted it later!!
Edited by Kieveli