Feed the Mind Spell

By roneba2, in General Discussion

Hi everybody.

We just played our first game and loved it. After so many defeats in Arkham Horror, it was strange to win.

But we had doubts about the Feed the Mind spell.

First: the caster can use it on himself?

Second: the caster can use the spell to boost all his skills to the maximum?

Thanks!

Feed the mind can indeed be used also on the caster. The very last lines in the Rulebook read: Possessions that affect “an investigator,” may be used on oneself unless it specifies “another investigator.” This is not the case of Feed the mind (wording is "an investigator", so, yeah, you can use it on yourself.

Not so sure of your second question: each time you cast Feed the Mind, you improve one of your skills by +1 to a max of +2. And each time you cast it, you can choose another skill to improve. This means that in order to boost all your skills to the max, you need to cast it 10 times, which is more or less once / turn throughout the game. Quite a long way.

Hope this helps!

You may use it on yourself, yes.

Julia notes that improving all of your skills would take at least ten turns, although if you have nothing better to do it's certainly not a waste. That said, both versions of Feed the Mind will nibble at your Sanity, and one version will nibble through it faster than you can Rest, so unless you can afford to Rest quite a lot (then what good are you doing?) it's not going to let you get that much.

thank you very much. you were very helpful

Yeah it is best used to round out skills, your group needs or improve what you already do best, say Strength and Will for Mark Harrigan

Can Lily Chen's passive ability to improve her skill be used in conjunction with the Feed the Mind Spell, so that a +1 boost from another player can be converted to +2 (max) for her?

Short answer is yes.