Yithian Scout Question

By Mnemonaut, in CoC Rules Discussion

Hi,

I'm relatively new to the game and haven't been playing for a long time, so maybe you guys can help me out with Yithian Scout . Does both abilities (Response/Action) trigger from the discard pile, hence fueling Nikola Tesla with success tokens?

Thanks!

Welcome to the great game that is Call of Cthulhu, Mnemonaut!

Yes, both of Yithian Scout's effects* are triggered from the discard pile and would allow you to trigger Nikola Tesla's ability*.

* On a side note: Triggers on a card out of play - such as Yithian Scout while in the discard pile - are NOT "abilities" (just "effects"). Triggers on a card in play are "abilities" (as well as being "effects"). This is important to note because some cards react to 'abilities' (e.g. Performance Artist cannot cancel Yithian Scout's effects) while other - generally stronger - cards can handle effects (e.g. either explicitly such as Eschatologist or implicitly such as Power Drain ).

From the Core Rules --
Triggered Effects
A triggered effect is any effect with preceded by the following text in bold: Action , Disrupt , Response, or Forced Response .

Triggered Ability
A triggered ability is any triggered effect caused by a card already in play.

Thanks a lot for the answer and the (good to know) side note. :)

And a second question concerning Yithian Scout :

The card has a Cost of 1, but Steadfast 2 -- does this mean that I have to drain a domain with two attached Yog cards to actually pay for Yithian Scout , even if it costs 1?

Two steadfast faction icons means you have to have at least two cards of that faction resourced anywhere amongst all your domains before you can pay its cost. However with a cost of '1' you still only need to drain a domain with at least one resourced card from that faction to actually pay for it.

As an example, if you have domains with the following resources:
Domain A: 1x Yog-Sothoth resource