"Discard" or "Closing" a Gate ... are they the same?

By Vala_Melkor, in General Discussion

Hi Guys

This Q is taken from the BGG forums ...

>>> http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1087333/discarding-vs-closing-gates

... where the player states that the "Gates cannot be closed" RUMOR card is in play, but a situation arose where the effect said the Gate is DISCARDED , so some players are saying this is different wording to a gate being CLOSED and the gate gets removed from play?

I believe Close & Discard are the same in regards to the Gate, based on the rulebook ...

Rulebook P10 wrote:
Gates are the main way that Doom advances (see the
“Advance Omen” step of the Mythos Phase). To prevent
Doom from advancing (and the Ancient One from
awakening), investigators need to resolve Other World
Encounter cards to close ( discard ) Gates .

... but an official answer would put my "Condition" at rest, whichever way it goes!

Thanks, Walts

Per the FAQ, Closing and Discarding are not the same; an effect preventing closing does not prevent the discarding of Gates.