Question about Charlie Kanes special action

By Philodept, in General Discussion

His special action reads, " Action : Another investigator of your choice may immediately perform 1 additional action."

My question is if you use this on an investigator can they take an action that they may have already taken? For instance, Lily chooses to take a travel action and a rest action then it goes to Charlies turn and he uses his special action on Lily, can she choose to travel again?

The rules state that an investigator may only perform each action once on their turn, but technically Lily was traveling on Charlies turn so it kind of makes sense that she could travel again, but I could see it going either way.

What do you guys think?

Uh oh. I had always remembered the rule as you did. That it is limited per turn. Actually looking at the rule though it says round.

Important: Each investigator can perform each action only once during a round. For example, an investigator cannot perform two Rest actions.

Page 7 of the rulebook.

I don't have Charlie in reach and can't recall exactly how it reads but if it doesn't allow for two of the same action his ability becomes much weaker.

Not sure about "much" weaker. Somewhat weaker, but it's still a tremendously useful ability, in my opinion.

Rulebook - Page 7 said:

Important: Each investigator can perform each action only once during a round. For example, an investigator cannot perform two Rest actions.

Reference Guide - Page 1 said:

Effects on components (such as cards) sometimes contradict rules found in the rulebook or reference guide. In this situation, the component’s effect is correct.

Charlie Kane Investigator Sheet said:

Action: Another investigator of your choice may immediately perform 1 additional action.

What do others think?

There is explanations about it in the end of reference book.…..Charlie cannot use this ability on person who already perform his actions in this round.

Glaurung hit the spot here, Charlie can only target characters that still have to perform their action phase. Additionally, actions specify that you cannot perform twixe the same action in a given round. A round is defined on pag. 6, under Playing the Game as consisting of different phases, one of these being the Action Phase. So, in my view of the rules, an investigator that hasn't played yet and is targetted by Charlie's ability cannot select the same action again during his action phase (because it's part of the very same round)

I'm going to have to disagree with you on part of that Julia. I believe the line Glaurung is referring to is this;

This action ability can be used on an investigator that has not performed any actions yet.


Emphasis mine.

My understanding is the sentence is there to clarify his ability not to modify it. It means that it can be used on an investigator that has not performed any actions yet this round in addition to investigators that have taken actions this round. It doesn't say "can only" or anything else that would be overriding what it says on Charlie's card itself.

That's an interesting point Fenyx, thanks for the input.

Just wondering: why isn't it worded "this action ability can be used on ANY investigator, regardless their action phase for the round has already been played or not"?

I think you over-ride the rulebook with a card when necessary but if they can read together without contradiction no need to resort to that, so I would say Charlie lets you do something more but does let you get 2 of the same action. That also seems more interesting/fun less min/maxing.

Coming from Arkham Horror, I like Charlie, " Kane for Mayor, an Elder Sign in Every Pot "

- Have Eldritch Horror, yet to play.

I think Fenyx is right in this situation. Charlie can use his special action to make anyone take another action, however, that action cannot be one they already performed, or if Charlie uses it on an investigator before their turn, they cannot perform the action they did in response to Charlies action when it becomes their turn.

I think Fenyx is right in this situation. Charlie can use his special action to make anyone take another action, however, that action cannot be one they already performed, or if Charlie uses it on an investigator before their turn, they cannot perform the action they did in response to Charlies action when it becomes their turn.

Hmm sounds interesting. I play it different way……Looks like is right and this change many thinks with him. He is even more better in this case.

I'm going to have to disagree with you on part of that Julia. I believe the line Glaurung is referring to is this;

This action ability can be used on an investigator that has not performed any actions yet.

Emphasis mine.

My understanding is the sentence is there to clarify his ability not to modify it. It means that it can be used on an investigator that has not performed any actions yet this round in addition to investigators that have taken actions this round. It doesn't say "can only" or anything else that would be overriding what it says on Charlie's card itself.

I think it is obvious that Charlie can use his ability on an investigator who hasn't yet used any actions, so the clarification is that Charlie cannot use his ability on investigators who have already acted. I also think it is also to clarify that Charlie's ability does not give another investigator the option to use one of their actions a second time.

Edited by mageith

I think Fenyx is right in this situation. Charlie can use his special action to make anyone take another action, however, that action cannot be one they already performed, or if Charlie uses it on an investigator before their turn, they cannot perform the action they did in response to Charlies action when it becomes their turn.

This is how my normal group and I have interpreted it as well.

The rules say any action can be performed only once per round (assuming game round here). So when Charlie uses his ability - on a player who has OR hasn't had their turn yet - they can do one ADDITIONAL action of a DIFFERENT type - ie. local action, rest that they didn't get to, whatever.

Example: Player A really needs to get to a gate but is a little weak AND just shy on travel but on a city with the right kind of connected paths. They rest, prepare for travel - Charlie allows them to Move as a third action on his turn to help them get there.

I'm going to have to disagree with you on part of that Julia. I believe the line Glaurung is referring to is this;

This action ability can be used on an investigator that has not performed any actions yet.

Emphasis mine.

My understanding is the sentence is there to clarify his ability not to modify it. It means that it can be used on an investigator that has not performed any actions yet this round in addition to investigators that have taken actions this round. It doesn't say "can only" or anything else that would be overriding what it says on Charlie's card itself

Yeah, we play it the same way as Fenyx mentioned, that you can play it on anyone who has/hasn't taken their Actions, giving them a whole load of options, like Sadistikals example. We always take this investigator! ... Walts

I would play it that it can't be the same action again. Still, things like Rest, Move, and Trade for instance is very powerful.

Edited by Wolfgar

I think it is obvious that Charlie can use his ability on an investigator who hasn't yet used any actions, so the clarification is that Charlie cannot use his ability on investigators who have already acted. I also think it is also to clarify that Charlie's ability does not give another investigator the option to use one of their actions a second time.

*shrugs* And I've had two people ask "Wait, if Charlie is giving an 'additional' action does that mean that it can't given to someone who hasn't gone yet?" as they felt 'additional' meant it needed to be, well, in addition to something and if someone hasn't gone yet there is nothing yet for it to be in addtion too . So it may be obvious to you. But it was obvious to them in the exact opposite.

Just wondering: why isn't it worded "this action ability can be used on ANY investigator, regardless their action phase for the round has already been played or not"?

To clarify for the people I mentioned above. I feel like it is in the Ref Guide to answer a question someone had not to limit his ability as it reads on the card. Also if the line in the reference guide was meant to limit him then there were three better ways of doing it that come to mind.

1) In the Ref Guide say this instead "This action cannot be used on an investigator who has already gone"

2) In the Ref Guide say this instead "This action can only be used on an investigator that has not performed any actions yet."

3) (my favorite) On his character card say this instead "Action: Another investigator who hasn't performed their action phase of your choice may immediately perform 1 additional action."

Although 3 could probably be worded better it is my favorite because then you don't even need the entry in the Ref Guide. There is plenty of room on his card.

So my counter-question is why didn't they just do one of the above solutions?

@Fenyx - Just one of those things that was probably missed in testing. They probably knew the correct way, or had an established norm and it was just oversight - as most wording issues are. Maybe a revised edition or expanded ref pdf will address it in the future?

FAQ ruling on Charlie Kan states that it may be used on an investigator whether he has already acted or has yet to act, but still doesn't allow the taking of the same action more than once per turn.

FAQ ruling on Charlie Kan states that it may be used on an investigator whether he has already acted or has yet to act, but still doesn't allow the taking of the same action more than once per turn.

What about Silas? He also cannot move twice by his ability right?

Taken from the new FAQ ...

An investigator cannot perform the same action more than once each round , even if he is able to perform an additional action, such as from Charlie Kane’s action ability.

... so it's set as one action mode per round, but Silas does buck the trend with his main action ability. However, it is clearly covered ... taken from the Ref Guide (P13) ...

Silas cannot spend travel tickets to move additional spaces when using his action ability. The additional
action granted by this ability does not count against his usual two actions per round. He may use his
action ability and the Travel action during the same round
.

... which shows what he can do, i.e. use his Action ability and Travel as normal. I would say they made a bit of a "boo-boo" when creating him and should have just gave him different wording, i.e. Action : Silas may move one extra space when using a Travel action .

Walts

Nah, he's good as is. His component action simply isn't a Travel action is all. Just giving him extra move would be more limiting than what he actually does. One of the useful things about Silas is not only does travel get him farther, but he can also Rest, Prep for Travel, or Trade while not being pinned down.

FAQ ruling on Charlie Kan states that it may be used on an investigator whether he has already acted or has yet to act, but still doesn't allow the taking of the same action more than once per turn.

What about Silas? He also cannot move twice by his ability right?

Silas's action is not a Travel action; it only works on Sea Spaces and cannot be used with tickets. It is not the same as the Travel action. Likewise acquiring the Charter Flight asset isn't a Travel action, nor is getting affected by the Plumb the Void spell, so you could legally combine any of these with a Travel action. You just can't take two travel actions, either on your own or using Charlie's ability.

Edited by Wolfgar

FAQ ruling on Charlie Kan states that it may be used on an investigator whether he has already acted or has yet to act, but still doesn't allow the taking of the same action more than once per turn.

What about Silas? He also cannot move twice by his ability right?

Silas's action is not a Travel action; it only works on Sea Spaces and cannot be used with tickets. It is not the same as the Travel action. Likewise acquiring the Charter Flight asset isn't a Travel action, nor is getting affected by the Plumb the Void spell, so you could legally combine any of these with a Travel action. You just can't take two travel actions, either on your own or using Charlie's ability.

yes I agree here with you. but I see some people travel twice by his ability and aldo feel that against a rule.

P.S. still cannot win with only one investigator even Azatoth!! almost done it but almost doesn't count.......

Things you can do with Silas (legal):

1. Perform a different action, move one sea space, and then Travel one space + a valid space for each travel ticket spent

2. Move one sea space, Travel one space + a valid space for each travel ticket spent, and perform one more action

3. Travel one space + a valid space for each travel ticket spent, Move one sea space, then perform one more action

4. Move one sea space and take two other different actions

5. Perform an action, move a sea space, and perform a different action.

That is three actions each turn. Two of those actions move you, and yes they may be combined.

Theoretically, Silas could move up to 6 spaces in one turn by chartering a flight, taking his special move action, and then taking a Travel action where he spent two travel tickets.

Things you cannot do with Silas (illegal):

1. Spend travel tickets on his special move action.

2. Use his move action if you have already made two moves.

3. Use his move action if Detained.

Likewise it should be noted for a Travel action you have to make the adjacent move then spend travel tickets. You can't spend tickets first and then take the adjacent move.