Question on Bank Loan and Zombie Horde

By Randymd, in General Discussion

1. If I already have a Debt Condition can I still use the Bank Loan to add two successes to my acquire assets action? I'm guessing no since I can't gain a second Debt Condition.

2. What happens when you have to resolve the omen effect on a Zombie, which states to discard the Zombie and place the Zombie Horde on this space, if the Zombie Horde is already in play on another space? Do you discard the Zombie and relocate the Zombie Horde to that space or is the omen effect ignored? Or do you possibly discard the Zombie without placing the Zombie Horde since it is unavailable?

Hi RandyMD

Had a quick look-see at the rules again and came up with ...

1. Page 2 of the Ref Guide ... " If an investigator already has a Debt Condition, he cannot acquire a Bank Loan " ... so ur answer is No to a second Debt Con.

2. This one's not clear in the rules, but we play that the condition on the card takes precedent, so relocate the Zombie Horde in place of the Zombie token, but that's how we would play it as nothings in the rules.

Walts

As to the Zombie/Horde issue, I would just ignore the Reckoning on the Zombie the second (or subsequent) time it triggered. Part of my reasoning is that Epic Monsters are supposed to be Returned to the Box when defeated, so I don't believe that you're meant to spawn them multiple times. So once the Horde spawns for the first time, you can ignore the rest - including the discard of the Zombie. This seems the most practical solution to me.

Alternatively, you could discard the Zombie and advance Doom if the Horde is unavailable. This is the solution used for other, vaguely analogous, situations (such as spawning Gates).

Edited by mccrispy

Hi McCrispy

I like your suggestion about ignoring the Zombie Horde creation if already in play & add one Doom token ... I'm all for making the game a tad harder if possible, without breaking it!

We'll look to use this " horror effect " from now on if anything else crops up that's meant to create a worse situ for the investigators and is not covered in the rules.

Keep those ideas coming!

Thanks, Walts

If a given monster token is already in use, then it is not available, so there is no need to check for further effects. The zombie horde stays where it is until defeated.

@Wolfgar - That is how we played it too, had this same incident the other night.

@mccrispy - I like the doom advance idea. Also, maybe I read what you said wrong, I don't think the monster can't be spawned again if defeated (ie. put in the box). Reason is that don't Elite stay in the box until needed at setup anyway? So just because it goes to the box, doesn't mean it is gone. So, if you defeat the horde before the other regular zombie - the next reckoning would make the horde come back out - ie. what happened in our game.

I had this answer from Nikki about a double Zombie Horde:

"Spawning" an Epic Monster is different than "moving" it. So, if the Zombie Horde is already on the board and a reckoning would have a Zombie spawn another one:

1) The original Zombie Horde does not move. The Zombie Horde is already on the board and the Zombie's effect is to spawn a Zombie Horde, not move it.

2) No new Zombie Horde is spawned. As an Epic Monster, the Zombie Horde is set aside until needed. If there is not a Zombie Horde set aside (such as when it is already in play), then it cannot be spawned.

Hopefully this helps to clear things up!

The text on the zombie was changed by the recent errata, as follows:

"Spawn the Zombie Horde Epic Monster on this space. If you do, discard this Monster.”

The text on the zombie was changed by the recent errata, as follows:

"Spawn the Zombie Horde Epic Monster on this space. If you do, discard this Monster.”

Yes, you discard the original Zombie. This means you return the monster to the cup and randomize the cup. Hence the Zombie can be spawned again, and activated with the Horde still in play.

Maybe we can get some extra Zombie Hordes in an expansion. That would be...good?

Maybe we can get some extra Zombie Hordes in an expansion. That would be...good?

This would be more World War Z and less Lovecraft, in my opinion... maybe good for a variant?

Maybe they should just say 'return (the Zombie monster token) to the box'.

Otherwise I'm just spawning the one Horde and as most other posters, throwing the Zombie out there again if I draw it, with no other actions.