There is a debate I am caught up in on BGG and I am hoping that the game designers watch this forum to answer questions officially.
If a player fails when casting a ritual like "Feed the Mind" and is faced with a decision "discard this card unless you lose 2 sanity" can that sanity loss be prevented with another spell like Instill Bravery?
Position 1: If you block the sanity loss, then you did not lose 2 sanity and thus did not fulfill the unless condition - so you would still discard the Feed the Mind spell.
Postion 2: You chose the unless condition legally and since it does not state SPEND 2 sanity you can try to prevent the loss while resolving the result. It comes down to whether or not preventing the loss with a spell is considered choosing not to resolve the effect during an "unless" conditional statement.
This is something I hope that will get an official clarification and eventually be in the FAQ.