Roll OVER versus Roll Under

By deaddmwalking, in Deathwatch House Rules

I posted this in the PbP forum for my GM to read, and per his request, he wanted to have it posted here where people more familiar with the Deathwatch game could share their thoughts.

While I'm new to Deathwatch, I'm familiar with roll under systems, and advocate them for 'roll high'. The post is below:

This is kind of a suggestion, and kind of a tirade.
One of the big breakthroughs of D&D 3.x was the 'always roll high'. In original D&D, there were some rolls you wanted to roll low since you often had to 'roll under you attribute' but other rolls that you wanted to roll high (like attack rolls).
Roll under seems like it should be easy, since you're just comparing two values (which one is higher) and that might be true until you have to consider degrees of success. If you needed a 66 and you rolled a 38, how many degrees of success did you get (without using your fingers)?
The thing is, roll under is completely unnecessary . Let me show you a better way.
Example 1 - Your skill is 40
You know to succeed you need to roll between 1 and 40 on your d100. Obviously, that is 40 numbers. Now, imagine that instead of saying 'roll under 40' you rolled the d100 and added your skill (1d100+40) with a fixed Target Number of 100. If you're good at math, you already know that you need to roll between a 60-100 in order to get 100 or better. That, my friends, is a range of 40 numbers (just like roll under). The real advantage is that degrees of success becomes SUPER EASY. If you rolled a 95 (+40) you have a 135. Since addition is easier than subtraction, nobody has a problem with that. And subtracting 100 is WAY easier than subtracting 38 from 66. Clearly, if you have a 138 you can drop the 100s digit (leaving 38) and that's how much you beat the target by - giving you 3 degrees of success.
Example 2 - You have a 70 in the relevant skill, but you have a -30 for circumstances.