Inquisitorial Conflict

By Timelierentree8, in Dark Heresy Gamemasters

Hey guys

This is my first time to the forums so I wanted some advice on my main campaign. I've been GM for a four-man stong Acolyte band for about a year now and they are all starting to reach Ascention-level. So now I want to up the ante. Recently, the PCs explored a mechanicus research facitlity in a joint inquisitorial task force involoving a Deathwatch Space Marine (Ordo Xenos), Inquisitor Nero and his Retinue (Ordo Malleus) and my PCs (Ordo Hereticus).

Finding that a deamon had been trapped in the facility's reactor to power the whole planet's defences, my Acolytes promptly began to purge the whole place. However they discovered one of Nero's men was in fact a deamonhost and decided to open fire on them. With suprise and a Space Marine on their side, my PCs took out the host and burned Nero alive, thinking they killed him. However, I left out the fact that Nero has Touched by the Fates and was recovered and now wants a spot of revenge but with my Acolytes now focussed on other investigations, I was hoping for some insiration on how best to bring Nero's schemes into my current story.

Any Ideas?

I'd have their contacts start going missing or dead as an assassin in Nero's employ closes in on them, throwing them on the defensive, and either have the assassin try to isolate and take out members or have a significant taskforce of Imperial Stormtroopers try to capture them for their "heretical" acts.

I guess I might need to know more about the situation

Nero is an Oblationist so "dying" actually helps him get on with his crusade. I was thinking of sending a pair of death cult assasins their way, as this will hopefully show them just how stupid taking out an inquisitor can be. Also as another twist, one of my PCs actually wants to become an Oblationist so I was thinking Nero could take on a new name, train the Acolyte and ultimately use his as a way for the group to let their guard down