Protecting the weak

By HashKey64, in WFRP Rules Questions

I'm a newbie to 3ed but a veteran GM of 1ed/2ed WFRP.

I can't wrap my head around this thing about Encounters.

In a group of adventurers (or monsters). How can an important character be protected? It seems that the enemy can close and engage pretty much anybody they like (because of abstraction).

In all other cases the 3ed seems pretty good!

Yes, unless a character has the Bodyguard action or something like it, monsters can run right up and take out your mage..just another reason not to min-max your mage :)

D&D4 had that "you can't move" marking, which I never cared for, but yes there are ways in WFRP3 to protect people.

Check the list of special actions from Omens of War for more information on stuff like that.

Was just about to order Omes of War when I saw your answer. Now... a three day wait for it to show up. :)

Edited by HashKey64

Exactly, the fluid positioning system encourages you not to engage in the 5 by 5 square concept. Though people are often more used to it "but Erich is in front of Magnus", it's also just as conceptual as in a fight people are jumping around all over the place.

" My Life For Yours " and such are the actions to take to be able to protect someone.

Also, narratively, corridors, bridges, narrow defiles, alleys justify saying "room for one or two or three (as case may be) abreast. So let Players know to "add to the narrative" and describe the location or seek out a particular terrain.

Similarly foes will choose fights in terrain that favour them. The goblin mage will be up on a rocky ledge, the beastmen will want to attack when in an open part of the woods where they can come from all directions.