epic map pack, constructive discussion

By TylerTT, in Battlelore

I know most enthusiast players were unsatisfied with the epic map and troll pack. I was thinking there were at least a few opportunities they missed with the sets. I think it would be interesting to discuss the possible opinions they have with these packs going forward.

Visual hook

I think the maps are lacking a distinct visual hook. A printed one shot map should be both a game board and a work of art worthy of framing (frame would make a wonderful playing surface). Some easy hooks would be changing the season to fall or winter, coast line, mountain, a canyon, a fortress. Any kind of distinct geological feature would really make the map more pleasing and more valuable. I know the artwork would cost more but as an artist I think we need more work anyway.

It would be nice if they had some more terrain. Mabye a bog where green and blue units could move at full speed while red units and all cavalry could only move a space at a time. Just a thought.

Truth be told, I had little problem with how the map looked once we discovered the intended purpose. My biggest gripe was the price for what we got. I thought it should have been less expensive and they should have included the cards with it.

And maybe some more units.

ColtsFan76 said:

Truth be told, I had little problem with how the map looked once we discovered the intended purpose. My biggest gripe was the price for what we got. I thought it should have been less expensive and they should have included the cards with it.

I'm sure they could have done the map with cheaper materials, because we see largish printed maps included in collectible games all the time. But those maps also tend to be more difficult to play on top of.

Where $20 bucks is expensive for a game mat, it's a very cheap price for a large artwork print.