Advice and Question after first session

By ZSpark, in Game Masters

Hello everyone. I'm new to Edge of the Empires (who isn't?) and GMing in general. We just had our first session, but all we did was created characters. However, I have do have a few questions after going through the rulebook.

1. when making a combat check, Advantage is spent to cause a critical injury. My questions is this advantage spend and then lost? or if a weapon has a certain quality that allows it's user to spend advantage for an effect, could he spend the same advantage he used for the critical injury to activate the quality as well?

I do not have the book in front of me so I can't see the weapons, but suppose a weapon had a critical rating of 3, and a quality that can be activated by spending 2 advantage, If a character hits with 3 advantage, can he do a critical hit and activate that quality? or would he need 5 total advantage to do both?

2. Obligation advice. I do not have much EU knowledge, and so this is one I need advice on. One of my players got the dutybound obligation and he wanted it to be that he is a Mandorlian. I have little knowledge and am currently researching them. But for any of you who do have this knowledge, do you have any advice on how to handle this obligation? Or is it something that I should not allow?

And yet another character got the Oath obligation and he wanted it to be "job comes first". He is a Bounty Hunter and we came up with a basic, there had been a specific Wookie he is looking for that always seems to get away. Is this a good idea? Or is it bad that he is focused on a single target?

3. I will be running the adventure in the back of the core rulebook (trouble brewing). Is this a good adventure to start with? Any things I should know about before running it as an inexperienced GM? Maybe something that came out as, I wish I knew about this earlier?