Fantasy Flight Games: Bring back HeroQuest!

By Zophar, in The Crystal Ball and The Wishing Well

To whom it may concern at FFG,

I've been playing board games / CCG / LCGs / etc for many years now, and lately I've been thinking about the board game that got me into it all... HeroQuest, circa 1991! I absolutely was blown away by a board game that had different scenarios, monster figures, but most important of all... the furniture! I loved it all! Even though by today's standards the rules were a little crude and undefined in some places, and it got way too easy as you leveled up, it was such a fun game and some of my best gaming memories are from that time.

So... since it was set in the WarHammer universe, and FFG has the rights to the Warhammer series... why not remake it? I can think of no better game to remake. No offense to Descent, but nothing beats Zargon raining down the forces of evil gargoyles, goblins, and femirs... and did I mention the FURNITURE? (If you do remake this, don't change the furniture into tokens! hehehe...)

OK, who agrees? What do we have to do to make our voices heard?

Brad "Zophar" Levicoff

Count me in. I enjoy Descent 2e, but Heroquest has the exploration aspect going for it, which adds an extra level of enjoyment - and the fact that the whole family can play it within minutes, with very little rules explanation for newbies. Update the board, miniatures, skill and combat rules (while retaining the simplicity) and this could be great.

Absolutely the best product idea I've heard in a long time. It's beyond me how a wildly popular game like HeroQuest hasn't been reprinted yet. Every gamer I know speaks to the greatness of this dungeon crawler classic. Some even refer to it as the "Granddaddy of Dungeon Crawlers" in the same way people speak of Gary Gygax with regard to RPGs.

While you're at it...I'd love to see a collector's edition with kick-ass, prepainted minis.

Do it, FFG. Do it soon. I'd buy it in a second.

Edited by Sanjay