SOLO Players- Solo Combat Arena for DQ

By Groovus, in DungeonQuest

Hi all, I think I have something for all my soloers out there. Im a avid game designer, and I had Dungeonquest in the 80's. LOVED IT! I didn't know until a few months ago, FFG re-released it, and they did a AWESOME job. One thing in particular I love is the card combat system. I like it so much, I designed and developed a system for us solo players. Its called Dungeonquest Solo Combat Arena. You use it when you encounter monsters to fight in a game of Dungeonquest. The monsters you fight, have a sort of A.I. or tactics that will give you a challenge in a fight. I created 4 very high quality maps. Map 1 is Crypt of Misery, Map 2 is The forgotten Ruins, Map 3 is The Dragonfire Pits and Map 4 is Ancient Depths. You will be able to download them and try it out for yourself. Im going to try and post them on FFG's site if Im allowed. I LOVE Dungeonquest, so I designed these battle maps so they look and feel like a extension of the game. I think people might think differently about the card system when you see how I implemented it, and you see your hero battling it out with these monsters on these battle maps. This Solo Combat Arena is almost like a mini game within Dungeonquest. To try and give you an idea....its like zooming way in on the room with the hero and monster, and your hero and the monster are battling it out, moving around, while both are trying to get the vantage point to unload a massive attack with the combat cards, and power cards, (Yes the monster do use the power cards) The gameplay is pretty strategic, but VERY easy to understand. Im really excited to show this to fellow DQ fans who would like a more involved combat experience while soloing. I did buy some D&D minis to use with mine, but you could easily use the monster token for the monster, and you use your hero figure on the battle maps. But, it is really nice "eye candy" to see painted minis battling it out on these maps. I'll put