Help! Starship Combat Sample?

By GalaxyUC, in Star Wars: Edge of the Empire Beginner Game

Guys…

I have read the Beginner Game Cover to Cover…and I have also read most of the BETA version of EotE. I still do not understand Starship Combat. I'm a veteran GM of ALL of the Star Wars RPG systems made to date, and a veteran GM of WHFRPG 3rd Etd. Space combat always seems like an afterthought in these games, yet it is why everyone I personally know loves Star Wars, the dog fights and dramatic space battles/escapes!

For some bad reason, I just cannot wrap my head around this space combat system. I wish there was an extended example of a space fight! Say a YT-1300 vs. like 2 TIE Fighters would be fine. I know asking for a round by round recreation seems like a lot, but I feel it's the only way I can get it. Speed and range bands and manuevers is where this system loses me. It may be simple, but for some reason I cannot grasp it.

Can anyone provide some insight? I think I just need to hear it in a different way.

YT1300 vs two independent ties… using the beginner box rulebook.

Noting that YT1300 does not want to escape (due to the ties reporting them), and has 4 crew - Pilot (P), Copilot/Engineer ©, Gunner A (A), Gunner B (B)

The ties want to scan and destroy once scanned because of contraband. (T1) and (T2).

Everyone at maximum speed already

Starting range long.

Everyone was in the cockpits of their ships.

Step 0: initiative.

P C A B T1 T2
Dice 2Y 1Y 1G 2Y 1G 1Y 3G 3G 3G
Roll SA AA SS S SS S _ SA SA SS A S S A SA AA A
Result 1.3 3.0 3.0 4.3 2.1 1.4
Ranking 6th 3rd 2nd 1st 4th 5h

Initiative Track…

PC1 PC2 PC3 NPC1 NPC2 PC4

Turn 1

Range to ties long/long

PC 1 will be P
He Maneuvers to close on T1
His action is a second maneuver to close on T1.

Range is now Med/Long

PC 2 is C maneuvering twice as well - to get back to engineering.

PC 3 is GB who maneuvers twice to get into the guns

NPC 1 is T2. He maneuvers twice to close to Medium. Done.