How to Build a Deck

By BigFest, in Warhammer Invasion Deck Building

Hi all!

I recently started playing Invasion, and I'm absolutely loving it. The more I understand the game, the better it gets. With this in mind, I'm interested in looking at building a deck of my own. I currently own the standard core set. I have played games with all 4 available races. I'm looking at purchasing some of the expansion packs. My question is, what play styles are decks built around in this game? I understand there is a broad scope with all the cards on offer. I'm just curious to what the main tactics employed are, which races play best to those tactics, and some examples of cards that demonstrate those abilities. Any advice anyone could give would be much appreciated. Thanks!

In general, there tend to be two types of deck archetypes that do really well. The first is the "rush". A rush deck is one that seeks to get as many cards out and attacking as quickly as possible. The orcs are very well suited to rushing as they have multiple small units that are cheap to play, and the Waaagh! tactic from the base set is a fairly inexpensive way to make these small units pack a real punch. The Empire and Chaos factions can also put together fairly decent rush decks.

The second general archetype is a control deck. A control deck is on that seeks to control some aspect of what the other player can do. These kind of decks use card abilities to really restrict another player. The Empire can do this through the manipulation of opponent card placement and development. Chaos can do this by corrupting units or by killing them off easily. The Dark Elves can gain control by killing units through negative hit points or by causing the opponent to constantly discard their hand.