Dice Mechanics Feedback Thread

By FFG_Sam Stewart, in Game Mechanics

Hello Testers,

This thread is stickied for the purpose of posting feedback and content for the dice mechanics specifically. Thanks, everyone!

I love the destiny pool mechanic. My gaming group thinks of it as similar to "rocket tag," but the back and forth nature of these points is quite nice.

I have been reading over the " interpreting the pool" section and just a thought, you might want to add a dice result quick reference chart. Can be very handy for new players to the game as well as your products. I have never used custom dice before myself and seems like it can be quite handy. You can sell it as gm screen if need be. I just think it would help out alot for people not used to this format.

Ski

I think the "Dice Symbols & Results" Can be combined and consolidated as well. I think there can be a way to combine the Positive and Negative Results on to a single page rather then 2 pages. For the most part it explains how each symbol cancels out each other and I think it gets redundant after reading the positive results and then going into the negative results. I think it could just read a lil bit better to a new player imo.

After our first session I would suggest putting one less triumph/detriment facing on the dice. I did appreciate the narrative flair, and I get that most times actions will have some effect, good or bad, even if only minor. However by the end of the session I think narrative fatigue was setting in for the GM to think up descriptions of what happened on a dice roll. As it is the green and purple dice have half their facings with a triumph or detriment symbol. I would suggest dropping this to 3 facings. You still get a decent number of narrative results, but not on almost every roll.