Lodge of the Silver Twilight - a Mono deck

By dboeren1, in Call of Cthulhu Deck Construction

There was a thread on Boardgamegeek recently about whether Silver Twilight could run well as a mono deck or not. I thought they could, though it may not be high level competitive - and when the new pack came out with what looked like some more good cards for them I decided to try building a deck and see how things went.

I've never tried a mono-ST deck before, and found myself having to reach beyond the cards I'm most accustomed to - so quickly it turned into an experiment to throw in a bunch of new stuff and see what turned out useful and what didn't - with the idea that I'll probably go through several rounds of changes.

Anyway, here's the initial version:

30 Characters:
2xLodge Neophyte
3xInitiate of Huang Hun
2xMeticulous Scribe
3xProtector of Secrets
2xChauncey Swann
2xDirk Sharpe
3xKnight of the Eclipse
3xLord Jeffrey Farrington
2xMaster of the Myths
2xNigel St. James
2xSarah Van Shaw
2xSilver Twilight Enforcer
2xNathan Wick

11 Events:
3xFriendly to the Order
3xSteal the Soul
3xYou Know too Much
2xHidden Agenda

9 Supports:
2xThe Doorway
1xThe Oubliettes
3xRitual of Exclusion
3xT'tka Halot

Sunday night I met up with a friend and we managed to get in something like 8-9 games of this deck vs. a mono-Agency deck. He's a relatively new player, but I think we managed to get at least some useful first impressions.

Against this particular deck, I was expecting Ritual of Exclusion to be important. I would say it was helpful, but not critical. Bouncing and an occasional Steal the Soul or Friendly to the Order helped a lot for us to survive combat - also I should say that he has a tendency to over-commit on his turn so we got away with undefended stories more often than we should have and no defenders means no defenders shooting at us either. Anyway, 3x was clearly too many copies - 2x would be plenty.