Questions about the game

By Paletti, in Doom

Hi there,

I recently purchased Doom and I must say that it's a great game. After playing 'Knee deep in the dead' we had some questions about the game play. Can anybody help me with these questions?

Question 1:

Is it possible to throw a grenade behind an invader (over an invader)? This was what happened. The marine was standing in a hall of two spaces wide. An oversized invader was standing in front of the marine and was 'blocking' the hallway because of it's size. Behind of this invader was a free space and then another invader was positioned. Is it possible for the marine to throw a grenade over the first oversized invader, so that this grenade would land on the free space between the two invaders?

Question 2:

We played the game with one marineplayer and one invader player. In the last room of the scenario 'Knee deep in the dead' The marine entered the last room (in the north east with the red door). The marine opened the door and was still on the left side of the big room. In the following turn of the invader, the marine got killed by the invader. Is it possible for the marine to 'reenter' the game on the space adjacent to the red doors? According to the rules it seemed to us that this is a legal move (room was already revealed and space is between 8 and 16 spaces, but if this is a correct move it's not really a nice one because the marine player didn't have to fight at all in the last room. He just had to be killed once, and then 'jump' all the way to the red door without having to fight at all. His last turn, when entering the game again, he would use to open the door and run away. What is correct in this specific situation?

Question 3:

If an oversized invader is standing one space away from the middle of an cross section part, is it legal to step diagonally to another 'exit' of the cross section part? Or is it necessary to first make one move to the middle part of the cross section and the one step into the other 'exit' of the cross section?

Hopefully somebody can help me out with these questions. Thanks in advance.

Greetings

paletti said:

Hi there,

I recently purchased Doom and I must say that it's a great game. After playing 'Knee deep in the dead' we had some questions about the game play. Can anybody help me with these questions?

Question 1:

Is it possible to throw a grenade behind an invader (over an invader)? This was what happened. The marine was standing in a hall of two spaces wide. An oversized invader was standing in front of the marine and was 'blocking' the hallway because of it's size. Behind of this invader was a free space and then another invader was positioned. Is it possible for the marine to throw a grenade over the first oversized invader, so that this grenade would land on the free space between the two invaders?

Question 2:

We played the game with one marineplayer and one invader player. In the last room of the scenario 'Knee deep in the dead' The marine entered the last room (in the north east with the red door). The marine opened the door and was still on the left side of the big room. In the following turn of the invader, the marine got killed by the invader. Is it possible for the marine to 'reenter' the game on the space adjacent to the red doors? According to the rules it seemed to us that this is a legal move (room was already revealed and space is between 8 and 16 spaces, but if this is a correct move it's not really a nice one because the marine player didn't have to fight at all in the last room. He just had to be killed once, and then 'jump' all the way to the red door without having to fight at all. His last turn, when entering the game again, he would use to open the door and run away. What is correct in this specific situation?

Question 3:

If an oversized invader is standing one space away from the middle of an cross section part, is it legal to step diagonally to another 'exit' of the cross section part? Or is it necessary to first make one move to the middle part of the cross section and the one step into the other 'exit' of the cross section?

Hopefully somebody can help me out with these questions. Thanks in advance.

Greetings

Answer 1:

As long as the space is within 8 spaces from the marine, I should say he can.

Answer 2:

The nightmare for the invader in a 1 marine game, the marine can die and 'teleport' closer to the finish.

Answer 3:

All diagonal movement is legal. On a cross board piece, a marine shouldn't need to move through the four centers if he doesn't want to (or is blocked by an oversize)

Hope that helps

Hello Knuckles,

Thanks for your quick reply. What I meant with question 3 was not that I wanted to move the marine while an oversized (4 spaces) invader was present, but that I wanted to move with the oversized (4 spaces) invader through the cross section part.

Is it legal to move with an oversized invader diagonally through the cross section part, although a very little part of the invader gets outside the board?

Thanks in advance!

..OO..

OOXX

OOXX

..OO..

to

..OO..

OOOO

OXXO

...XX..

where O is space and X is, say, a Cyberdemon

yes he can

paletti said:

Hi there,

I recently purchased Doom and I must say that it's a great game.

so, it is good?

there's a discount at local game store, I could get it for ~ 20 $ but haven't played it yet - should I go for it?

If you like team game, maze and strategy games, it's worth it.

It's also good for making your friends whimper and cry as they are ground down under an onslaught of Invaders (assuming you will be the Invader player) partido_risa.gif .

Dam said:

It's also good for making your friends whimper and cry as they are ground down under an onslaught of Invaders (assuming you will be the Invader player) partido_risa.gif .

well then, I'm always up for that :)

I guess I'll go and spend the money on another time-waster.

thanks for the info.

It can backfire, leaving them unwilling to have another go though. But, then you get to taunt them for being such wussies lengua.gif . If only getting the base game, download FAQ + Expansion rules from this site, those offer needed errata + mods to balance the game. I got around with just the base game for a long time myself (around 8-9 months) before only recently adding the expansion (but I had dl'd FAQ plus all the stuff available from FFG).

ugh, no luck.

sold out; they only had few copies, another shipment's on the way but it'll be back to 80 $.

****.

That's quite high price :/ It's about 110zl at my local store and that makes something like 35$

YoshiPL said:

That's quite high price :/ It's about 110zl at my local store and that makes something like 35$

Yeah, like I dont know :)

FFG games here are normally ~80 $ (there's only one shop in country that imports them; online ordering is not an option, really, cause the shipping price is too high and there are taxes for that kinda stuff. sometimes, I really envy US people :) ; Descent is exception, it is 130 $. incredible.

I'm trying to get it used somewhere, but no one is selling.

Wanna me to buy you teh expansion and sell via eBay? :D Payment via PP

YoshiPL said:

Wanna me to buy you teh expansion and sell via eBay? :D Payment via PP

heh, thanks, but I can do it myself :)

Descent box is superhuge and the problem is shipping cost, plus the taxes.

I'm waiting patiently, to get used one or to get the money for buying new game - whichever comes first :)

Hi Knuckles,

Thanks for your answer about walking around a corner with an oversized monster! I have some extra questions after a new and exciting game of Doom. Maybe you, or anybody else can help me out with these questions??

If I use a weapon with "blow through", can I use the extra dice roll (with one less die) if the first roll was a miss ( symbol 'X')?

Is it legal for a monster to open a door to an area that has not been revealed yet?

Is it legal for a monster to smash a door to an area that has not been revealed yet?

Will a scatter also produce a blast or only a damage on the destination field?

If a marine is in berserk mode, does he have to roll the dice when attacking (because of the possibility of a miss, symbol 'X') or will it ALWAYS be a kill?

Hopefully somebody can help me out :)

Thanks, Paletti

YoshiPL said:

That's quite high price :/ It's about 110zl at my local store and that makes something like 35$

heh, I got it :)

apparently, there was one left in the store.

haven't played it yet, but it looks nice.

paletti said:

If I use a weapon with "blow through", can I use the extra dice roll (with one less die) if the first roll was a miss ( symbol 'X')?

Yes, unless you play campaign mode and the weapon broke gran_risa.gif .

paletti said:

Is it legal for a monster to open a door to an area that has not been revealed yet?

Is it legal for a monster to smash a door to an area that has not been revealed yet?

No and no.

paletti said:

Will a scatter also produce a blast or only a damage on the destination field?

It will blast.

paletti said:

If a marine is in berserk mode, does he have to roll the dice when attacking (because of the possibility of a miss, symbol 'X') or will it ALWAYS be a kill?

Gotta roll.

Hi Dam,

Thanks for your reply! Already looking forward to our new game tomorrow happy.gif

Paletti

quick questions no.01

1. x - space mark is demon, 1 is marine1, 2 is marine2

oooo oooo

oxo2 oxoo

ox1o next oxOo

oooo oooo

O is marine2 he is moving thru place with marine1, watchful is activated, attack is prepared - question: who will get hit ? marine2? marine1? both?

we know in doom taregt is not figure but space so if answer is 'both' only 1 roll will appear for marine2 so how to handle 2nd roll for marine1-space ?

2. in invader deck its card called madness something... invader player can choose what will marine do, my Q is: invader tell marine what to do OR he is in total control with this marine for whole round ?

thank U.

stan_n1 said:

quick questions no.01

1. x - space mark is demon, 1 is marine1, 2 is marine2

oooo oooo

oxo2 oxoo

ox1o next oxOo

oooo oooo

O is marine2 he is moving thru place with marine1, watchful is activated, attack is prepared - question: who will get hit ? marine2? marine1? both?

we know in doom taregt is not figure but space so if answer is 'both' only 1 roll will appear for marine2 so how to handle 2nd roll for marine1-space ?

2. in invader deck its card called madness something... invader player can choose what will marine do, my Q is: invader tell marine what to do OR he is in total control with this marine for whole round ?

thank U.

#1: First off, that's a pretty dumb move by the Marines, as he could just go around Marine 1. Anyways, I'd say Demon takes a bite out of their asses. 1 attack roll, apply the damage to both Marines (so in a sense the same as a Blast weapon, you roll once damage and apply it to all in the Blast area).

FAQ had this:

"Q: Assume the invader player is moving a figure and
moves it into a space occupied by another invader figure,
intending to pass through (since the moving figure can’t
end its movement in an already occupied space). At that
moment, the marine player uses a Guard order to attack
that space. Does the attack affect both figures?
A: In DOOM, you’re actually attacking a space, and affecting
all figures in that space. If the invader player is foolish enough
to present you with overlapped figures like that while you’ve
got a marine on guard, you can attack all of the overlapped
figures at once." (p. 2)

Can't see any reason it shouldn't apply the other way round as well, if the Marine is that stupid.

#2: Descent Into Madness allows the Invader to choose the action for the Marine, but the Marine player still controls the Marine.

yep, as i expected, i should get first look in to the FAQ :) thanks anyway.

# another quick question, cuz im reading FAQ now

what bothers me is, FAQ says in seeking section on page 3 that when miss occurs it scatters

but we know that only weapons with blast do scatter so whats going on ?

stan_n1 said:

yep, as i expected, i should get first look in to the FAQ :) thanks anyway.

# another quick question, cuz im reading FAQ now

what bothers me is, FAQ says in seeking section on page 3 that when miss occurs it scatters

but we know that only weapons with blast do scatter so whats going on ?

ignore my stupid question :) i'm blind :)

Knuckles Eki said:

..OO..

OOXX

OOXX

..OO..

to

..OO..

OOOO

OXXO

...XX..

where O is space and X is, say, a Cyberdemon

yes he can

Hi again Knuckles,

I have an extra question based on your answer (see above).

Is it possible for a marine to pass a cross section if a cyberdemon is standing in the middle?

Example: 1 is marine 1, X is cyber demon, O is empty space

from:

..OO..

OXXO

OXXO

..O1..

to:

..OO..

OXXO

OXX1

..OO..

Is it possible for the marine to 'hold his breath' and squeeze past the cyberdemon?

Another one:

Is it possible for a cyberdemon to squeeze past an obstacle in a cross section?

Example: X is cyberdemon, O is empty space, B is obstacle

from:

..OO..

OBXX

OOXX

..OO..

to:

..OO..

OBOO

OXXO

..XX..

Hopefully someone can help me out with this question and the previous one.

Thanks!

Why not, this would be the same as in a marine movement.