New Player, need some advice

By Ikka, in Dust Tactics General Discussion

Hello all. I'm Ikka. I'm a veteran 40k player. I just got back into wargaming after about a 5 year hiatus, and so far have picked up both Malifaux and Dust Tactics as my new games due to not wanting to spend another 5 grand on models. Love the simplicity and speed of DT, I'm just looking for a little advice on army building.

I purchased the RCS, love the models and fluff. I've chosen the Axis forces as my guys, I like the range and armor, and also purchased a Laser Grenadier sqaud with the RCS. I'm looking at the $ prices of the models, and the Light Panzer walkers are the same price as the Mediums. Are there any advantages, aside from points, that the Light walkers give? I love the walkers, but after the horrible beating that my Hans received in the very first game I played (Rhino + Grim Reapers in close combat killed him before I could even shoot), I'm wondering if I should just get some Mediums and not worry about the Lights. Any advice?

Also, how good are the Recon Grenadiers? I love the models, especially with the gas masks over the Battle Grenadiers, since I want to try my hand at a Jin-Roh paint scheme rather than historic. I'm just kinda worried about the low points cost, makes me wary that they can't stand in a fight.

Any other advice on a standard army setup would be great. Thanks a lot.

The light walkers are good, as you say, cheaper in points but also give good killing power, the quad 20mm Hienrich is my first walker of choice to support my infantry or to cover my medium walkers that lack any good anti-soldier capabilities from infantry attack.

Recon Grenadiers are great, they dish out a goodly amount of anti-soldier dice and can protect itself from walkers with their 3 Panzerfausts.