Playable out of the box?

By Mighty Jim 83, in CoC General Discussion

Hi all.

I've been playing AGoT LCG for a couple of years, and LoTR LCg since its release, but am fairly new to Cthulu etc.

I was wondering how playable this game is straight out of the box- is it similar to the other games in that you can get a flavour for the mechanics, but can't actually put together a full-size deck, or anything like that?

Given that I'm not in a position to catch up on dozens on monthly packs (not sure what the Cthulu term is) would this be a sensible purchase for me, or mgiht I be better off with elder Sign /Arkham Horror etc?

thanks

The Core Set includes 20 cards of each of the original seven factions and 15 neutral cards, and there's no duplicates.

By combining two factions and adding half the neutral cards to one deck you can create decks with 47 cards each, so they're slightly smaller than the tournament minimum of 50 cards.

I liked it a lot since it allows for a very high number of different decks and gives you a good idea what the different factions are about.

You should be aware though that you're playing with highlander decks, so the luck factor is high, and the factions aren't equally strong, so you can end up with two-faction combos that don't work well. If you don't mind either you'll definitely get your money's worth.

My recommendation would be based on the typical number of players you have available, e.g. CoC is most often played with two players and has no single-player option.

Arkham Horror works well with any number of players (1-7), particularly since it's easy to play several investigators at once. However, games can take a long time to finish (2-5 hours).

I haven't played Elder Sign yet, but judging by what I've read about it, it's 'Arkham Horror LITE'. It supports a similar number of players, but play time is a lot shorter (though probably not as short as a game of CoC).