Absolute Beginner Story

By Gothik, in Dust Tactics

I always wanted to play a wargame, but I was always afraid of huge costs, complex rules with rolling bags-of-dices and painting models. Three or four years age my cousin talked me into WFB and we bought a stater kit, Dwarves vs Goblins. Gray plastic looks terrible on the battlefield, so I decided to read some books, buy some paints and try to paint my dwarves. After priming and base-coating few models they looked like s#*t. "Didn`t I say so?" - I threw all this stuff into ma basement and forgot about wargaming.

Until last year, when I found DT and got immediately blown away with it. Fast and bloody, great models, simple rules but tactically challenging, quick setup, great game world - I love it, just like all of You :) My DT gaming partners are all avid painters, so I got jealous and decided to give it a try once more - went to the basement for my old paints and brushes and started again as an Absolute Beginner.

In this topic, I will post pictures of my work progress and humbly ask You for comments and critique. Please note that I have no experience in this and "painters`-slang" may be difficult to understand for me :) So, in advance - thanks for Your attention!

Where to begin? Because I want maximum tactics in Dust Tactics, I decided that I need two sets of each unit for each in the game (I know, I`m really psycho), of course except of the heroes, command squads etc. An old core set tiles have "winter" and "industrial/interior" styles, so I decided to paint my infrantry in winter and regular camo. I started with Allies:

1. BBQ Boys, winter camo

IMG_0011.jpg

IMG_0012.jpg

Errors made:

1. I used my old Chaos Black primer, which I had been using when painting my infamous dwarves. Now I know: if You are about paint white or light-colored model, use WHITE primer! Black will be difficult to cover and will be slightly visible in some places - like on the bases, for example.