I recently submitted this for clarification and thought I would get the thoughts of the board as well:
Hello,
I came across a rule in the Revised Core set that I was wondering if your team could clarify.
On page 15 of the Revised Core Set Rulebook there is a statement that “The entrance to a structure does not allow line of sight to run through diagonally” followed by another statement that “The rule that structure entrances block diagonal line of sight also applies when the two units are at different heights.”
Then on page 16, there is an example of a Laser Grenadier Squad shooting at BBQ & Gunner Rangers to illustrate the point of height vs. line of sight. In the example the BBQ Rangers are essentially in the “A2 to B2” situation and the Laser Grenadiers have line of sight, regardless of height. Also in that example the Gunner Rangers are on a 45 degree diagonal angle to the Laser Grenadiers, yet the example states that the Laser Grenadiers can target them regardless of height, but that the Gunner Rangers would benefit from cover, where the BBQ Rangers would not benefit from cover. How can the Laser Grenadiers target the Gunner Rangers if the structure entrance blocks diagonal line of sight? I can see how this would be a valid example if the Laser Grenadiers are on the roof of the structure, but not if they are located in the structure.
Thanks for your help,
Justin