Gallows: Your grid rules - what is considered an "engagement?"

By Emirikol, in WFRP House Rules

Gallows:

Your grid rules - what is considered an "engagement?" many action cards, etc. affect "engagements."

jh

Emirikol said:

Gallows:

Your grid rules - what is considered an "engagement?" many action cards, etc. affect "engagements."

jh

Since Im a player in Gallows group ....I can answer this:

Currently we use engagement to mean base2base ... or for area effects a 4x4 sq area

which in effect mean you can both be outnumbered by the ones attacking you ...while at the same time outnumber ('flanking') the opponent you choose to attack

Another question for Gallows battle grid house rules as I was considering using them. Do diagonals on the grid count as adjacent and can you move through them on a 1 for 1 basis (as opposed to the 1.5 cost in some battlegrid games)?

Kartigan said:

Another question for Gallows battle grid house rules as I was considering using them. Do diagonals on the grid count as adjacent and can you move through them on a 1 for 1 basis (as opposed to the 1.5 cost in some battlegrid games)?

For movement purposes we essentially use the rules from D&D so yes you can move diagonally at normal cost ... and a maneuver can either be a move of 4 or a disengage (shift) of 1

Kartigan said:

Another question for Gallows battle grid house rules as I was considering using them. Do diagonals on the grid count as adjacent and can you move through them on a 1 for 1 basis (as opposed to the 1.5 cost in some battlegrid games)?

Diagonal or not doesn't matter. The distance is the same in game terms although a diagonal of 5 looks longer than a straight of 5 on the actual grit. But it doesn't really matter when you just go with the idea that 5 squares is 5 squares no matter what direction you move.

As for the engagement we currently use 4x4, but I am thinking of changing it, so that it's an uneven number. Either 3x3 or 5x5. This is because then effects that targets an enganement is centered on a standup and the effect expands from there. More in line with the original rules. It's just that I find 3x3 to be slightly too little and 5x5 slightly too much.