Servo-Arm / Servo-Harness / Mechadendrite (Utility/Weapon) Questions

By Castellan Wilhelm, in Deathwatch Rules Questions

From my searching of the Forums most of my questions get answered. So I've decided to ask some questions that I already have l answers to so my Brother Techmarines can find all their trusty Servo & Mechadendrite needs in one spot. As I would find that handy if I was looking for all things Servo & Mechadendrite related.


1) Servo-Harness make up
From the rule book I know "At a minimum, a servo-harness consists of two servo-arms, a Combi-tool, a fyceline torch, and a plasma cutter."
a) Does this mean that to get other mechadendrites for the servo-harness one needs to pay more req or can it just get pimped out the wahzoo?
b) Is there a limit on the number of arms/tools?


2) Utility Mechadendrites
a) Medicae Utility - I can't seem to find details on this would also would it require the medicae skill to use it?
b) Machine Spirit Interface, Manipulator, Utility, Optical, where can I get more info regarding these variants?
c) In order to use the fyceline torch and plasma cutter of the servo-harness one will need the mechadendrite utility skill. correct?

3) Weapon Mechadendrites
a) Can one use the ranged variant as a reaction to attack? ie an enemy drops down in front of me my reaction is to kill it.
b) Range variants are Pistols only. correct?
c) Does a melee weapon variant add the weapon characteristic on top of the Servo-Arm base stats? which leads to my next question.
d) Mounting a Power Fist? A Servo-Arm has unnatural str x2, now being a weapon dedicated arm would it get unnatural str x3 from the Power Fist bonus? Meaning the Damage would be 2d10 + 21 (7x3) or 2d10 + 24* (8x3) for *exceptional version. Or from my previous question would that mean 4d10 + 21 (7x3) or 4d10 + 24 (8x3)*. From what I read a servo-arms strength value cannot be increased or decreased through devices or abilities that affect the Techmarine’s strength. However this is a weapon variant, not box standard servo-arm so would it gain the extra unnatural strength because it's no just a servo arm but a weapon Mechadendrite. Or would a powerfist be a complete waste of time. What weapon would be worth it?

4) Does the Servo-Arm/Harness get the benefits of a Characters advances like Hatreds (+10 WS) & Hunter of Aliens (+10 WS +2 Dam)?


5) Despite all the extra Arms from a Servo-Harness a Techmarine still has only gets 1 attack + 1 attack as a reaction.
Swift Attack is not in the Techmarines advances but can get the Two Weapon Wielder at rank 7 in the general advances (in which case the attacks suffer -20 WS)

Can't answer everything but here're my two cents ;)

1)a) I'd just say it's a fluff sentence, if you want to add something to your harness, pay the price.

b) I think a Servo-Harness only has 2 arms?

2) No idea ^^

3)a) I'd say yes

3)b) Don't have the book right now to check.

3c) I'd say no. You don't add your unarmed attack when using a melee weapon, so the Servo-arm doesn't either.

3d) Don't know if you can really mount a Powerfist on your Servo-arm, but if you do I'd play it the way you describe it (i.e. 2d10+21/24).

4) I'd say yes, because it's the character who "wields" it.

5) A Techmarine can always do a two-weapon attack. If he doesn't have Two-Weapon Wielder (Melee), he has a -20 to hit on both attacks. If he has the Talent, then the malus is only -10.

Maluses should be -20/-40 (dominant hand / non-dominant hand) without the Talent and -10/-30 with it, but Space Marines are Ambidextrous, which evens the maluses :)

Stormast said:

5) A Techmarine can always do a two-weapon attack. If he doesn't have Two-Weapon Wielder (Melee), he has a -20 to hit on both attacks. If he has the Talent, then the malus is only -10.

Maluses should be -20/-40 (dominant hand / non-dominant hand) without the Talent and -10/-30 with it, but Space Marines are Ambidextrous, which evens the maluses :)

HDaniel said:

Stormast said:

5) A Techmarine can always do a two-weapon attack. If he doesn't have Two-Weapon Wielder (Melee), he has a -20 to hit on both attacks. If he has the Talent, then the malus is only -10.

Maluses should be -20/-40 (dominant hand / non-dominant hand) without the Talent and -10/-30 with it, but Space Marines are Ambidextrous, which evens the maluses :)

No, he can't. Two-weapon attacks may only be made for a character with the aproppriate Two-Weapon Wielder talent. See page 246. All characters can wield two weapons in both hands, but to actually attack with them in the same turn, they must have the talent.

This is in dispute because in Dark Heresy it says you can at the increased negative, as stated above. So it comes down to a GM call. But I will say that it really does not make any sense that my super intelligent, and dextrous elite ambidextrous warrior cant use both hands to attack. When I the uber nerdy, no training geek can make attacks with two weapons in real life. (with no training)

So as a GM I would allow it, and give the negatives.