I apologize if I'm asking questions that are clearly covered in the rules somewhere. I've read the rules through a couple of times, but sometimes I have trouble getting things into my head.
So my lady friend and I played the first scenario from Blue Thunder last night. Since she can speak German, she chose the axis powers, running with the Recon Grenadiers, the Laser Grenadiers, and Luther (she found the concept of "self repair" very alluring). I ran the Combat Rangers, Recon Rangers, and Hot Dog.
She consistently won initiative, and before long she had charged with Luther and crushed half of my Recon Ranger Squad. I counter-attacked with Hot Dog, and only then did I read the flamethrower rules and realize that I had an automatic 1 out of 3 chance of killing her bot in a single hit (I was not successful).
I took a gamble and set up my Combat Rangers to do some good damage if I won initiative, but she won again, and her laser Grenadiers sliced through my squad. I still managed to counter-attack, but at close range, my Hot Dog couldn't survive a second attack from Luther, and was destroyed.
At that point, I realized I had already lost, because I didn't have a single unit in play that could touch Luther's armor (I had made a poor decision and killed my bazooka in order to preserve my UGL-carrying troops.
We still played the rest of the game out; it didn't take long for Luther to wipe my remaining troops out of existence.
So here are my questions:
1. How do special weapons (specifically flamethrower) interact with cover? Basically, if the flamethrower always has a 1 in 3 chance to kill each unit, it hits, does cover affect this (force a reroll)?
2. I'm fairly certain my Combat Rangers can fire their M1 ARs and UGLs at the same time. My question is this: is each figure carrying a UGL limited to firing one grenade per attack? I wound up in the situation where I only had two figures carrying UGLs left in play, but I hadn't fired any of my 4 grenades yet. Can those two figures each shoot 2 grenades (for a total of four) in a single attack, or are they limited to one per attack?
3. Is there any reason NOT to glue that 50 cal MG on top of my allied walkers? It's such a fragile, fidgety piece, and all of the models of walkers have it (except Steel Rain, who gets his own top piece). Same question for the MG 44 on the axis walkers.
I'll add any other questions I can think of later. Thanks for reading!