I know we already have two questions regarding scrub in the FAQ proposal, but last night we played our first Island level and I got confused, this had not been addressed so far.
When making a ranged attack into or through a scrub space,
every scrub space that line of sight is traced through adds two
range to the total distance instead of one.
The spaces traced through for LoS and for calculating range are not necessarily the same, so the rule is not applicable at all IMO.
The distance H->M is four, but LoS is traced through five "S" spaces (denoted by T in the right-hand diagram)
and then into the monster space (assuming scrub for that as well)
So, what is the range needed to hit the monster?
12, because 6 scrub spaces are traced through and into the target space? Contradicts the "instead of one" part.
8, because only 4 spaces are needed to "move" from H to M? Contradicts the "every space that LoS is traced through" part.
Thoughts? What did I miss?