A few questions from new players...

By Brian2112, in Wings of War (WWI)

Hello,

My gaming group started playing WoW last weekend. We liked it so much we got the expansions and a few minis. We have a few questions for the veteran WoW gamers here.

1. I've got 2 planes - an Albatros D.Va (B/A/15) and a Sopwith Snipe (M/A/16). During our games, I noticed that the M deck appeared superior to the B deck. Why would I not always use the planes with the better deck? The Watch Your Back set comes with planes that are E/B/10. With no point value, I cannot figure out why any of these other planes would be used.

2. Are there any optional rules for campaigns and/or pilot experience? I'll always play with the same group and we thought it would be interesting to keep track of victories.

Any other suggestions or advice for new players?

Thanks.

Well, I am kinda new to the game myself (usually play Blue max/Canvas eagles but no way I miss out a nice WW1 miniture game like this) so I will at least answer your first question.

Albatross DV Hit the western front June 1917. Sopwith Snipe arrived in September 1918. Never have the difference between a few months mattered so much as in WW1. The DV was still in use 1918 but it was considered inferior to the Fokker DVII, mostly fresh pilots got the DV that late.

The reality is that the plane differed at the time, the Albatross should be paired with planes from 1917 like Camels, Spad XIII and SE5, the Snipe should be paired with Fokker DVII. And things were not fair in WW1, in april 1917 (known as bloody april) did the allied lose most of it's pilots, it was when the Albatross DIII hit the front in number but the SE5 and Sopwith Triplane was out in numbers.

War ain't fair but try to pit the right planes against each other.

As for the XP part, I wonder the same thing. One of the reasons Blue max/Canvas eales is so fun. :D