Combat Questions

By MathusRayn, in StarCraft

I am new to this game and had a few questions about skirmishes.

1. Say I have organized two skirmishes as the attacker. I win one of the two skirmishes and the defender wins the other. Do we then proceed to a third skirmish with our remaining unit or am I as the attacker forced to retreat? The rules lead me to believe that the initial skirmishes that are setup by the attacker are it and it is a loss if the attacker does not win ALL skirmishes.

2. I have entered into a skirmish with one FLU and a supporting unit as the attacker. The defender has one unit. The defender wins the skirmish. What happens to the supporting unit? Is he destroyed, forced to retreat, or forced to engage as a FLU?

1. The attacker is forced to retreat.

2. The supporting unit is forced to retreat.

In point of fact, if any non assist defenders survive any of the skirmishes (after any splash damage has been resolved), then the attacker must retreat with any surviving units.

If the defender is completely eliminated, or has only assist units remaining (after any splash damage has been resolved), then the attacker has won, and any defending assist units must retreat.

Also some people confuse assist units and support units as the same by definition. They are different kinds of units.

Thanks for the fast replies. We played the game already and luckily we guessed correctly.

EMELT said:

Also some people confuse assist units and support units as the same by definition. They are different kinds of units.