I have a question regarding the rule for point blank range in melee. I am playing a devastor and last night we went up against a Brood Lord. I was wondering if the Devastor would be able to use the point blank range without the modifier to shoot the creature.
The reason why I was wondering is the melee combat rule says that when engaged in melee, characters can only make attack actions with the melee subtype. Yet in the point blank range rule, it says you don't get the bonus when engaged in melee combat but it does sound like you can still fire your long range weapon when in melee combat, you just don't get your +30 bonus.
I would think when you are going against a creature of the size of the Brood Lord, you would still be able to fire even if he is engaging you in melee just due to the size.
Any help clarifying this would be appreciated.
Thanks/