talisman luck

By jasonk2, in Talisman

i've been playing talisman for oh i dunno, 20 years now i guess. i would not exist without star wars, the pixies, or my talisman. anyways, i didn't like the token addition to the new version at first. but it does add a more strategic element to the game. how come talisman seems to be too much a luck game? i mean you can change up your movement to head for the crown of command. but until then you're basically at the mercy of die rolls (without fate) and basically just choosing whether to attack another player, or encounter a space, or to lose the game or just a life (hopefully with that second fate spent die roll) to the reaper. ya'dig.

I am not to sure if there is a question in your post or not.

I am also unable to clearly tell if you like it or not.

Monopoly 90%luck 10%skill

Poker 50%luck 50%skill

Chess 5%luck 95%skill.

Where does Talisman fit? I would guess between poker and monopoly. closer to monopoly. With the new fate, I would say it shifted 5% more twards skill. from wherever it was.

Does this answer the question you did not have?

This is why I like Talisman, It's based on Luck and skill.

Games with to much luck can suck.

Games that involve way to much skill can suck too.

Talisman is just where I like it. gran_risa.gif Dumb people can win, and smart people can win.

I would have to say Monopoly is way more skill than you give it credit.

Would I be better off auctioning this property rather than buying it to cause others to overprice (or so I can buy low)?

Is this trade worth it? What trade can I come up with that will put me in the best possible position?

Can I get the orange properties somehow (most landed on in the game)?

Should I buy houses now and risk having to sell them back later for 1/2 price?

Should I upgrade to hotels or should I put 4 houses on and try to force housing shortage for others?

I would venture that Talisman is pretty similar in the luck/skill category